1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem with MS Genie Package - Please Help!!

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by IanMcc, Feb 14, 2005.

1. IanMcc

IanMcc
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

I have just set-up my Yamaha 750 amp and MS Genie Package at the weekend, and as a complete novice I have been finding the set-up very confusing. I ran the auto set-up and everything seemed fine on Saturday night for the hour that I used the system. I played a bit of IRobot and was hugely impressed, but while music performance was good, I was not as impressed.

Then on Sunday morning I turned the system on and put in a DVD of Heat, and in the scene at the start which has the sound of a train building up gradually, I noticed that the sound from the front left speaker sounded a bit rough. I have swapped this speaker round to the right, and am still getting the same problem, so it is definitely a problem with the speaker. When you listen closely, I think the tweeter is OK, but the main cone is definitely distorting and sounds very rough.

Is it possible that I have somehow damaged the speaker, or have I just been unlucky to get a bad speaker?

Ian

2. Ed Selley

Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3,147
    It is unlikely you damaged it- unless you were in the "+" section of the Yamaha volume level where the distortion creeps in, but it may have suffered from shipping damge which has happened on one or two occasions- after we have finished with our bit of the shipping I hasten to add. I would simply encourage you to get the offending speaker swapped ASAP (you may be asked to swap a pair for packaging reasons) and hopefully get on with listening to them.
    Ed

3. Sly

Sly

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +48