Problem with Intempo RDI

Discussion in 'Music Streamers' started by yorkshirecath, Jan 24, 2010.

  1. Thirst4Know

    Thirst4Know
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +4
    jbomber, don't worry on the voltage question- provided a 16V one physically fits, it will be fine and may well have a longer lifespan in this situation.

    When you're looking for a replacement component, the parameters quoted in listings, such as rated voltage, ripple current, temperature etc., aren't hard-and-fast, cut-and-dried points below which it will last indefinitely, above which it will fail straight away, they're more like manufacturers' suggestions for points in the rather fuzzy statistical area where reliability is deemed to go from "acceptable" to "unacceptable". To further cloud the issue, they're somewhat inter-dependent and often need to be traded against each other in a particular situation. (A bit like life in general- thankyou, Marvin.) E.g, as the temperature of the environment a cspacitor is operating in increases, the recommended maximum ripple current for long service drops quite sharply, likewise, if it's being operated close to its rated temperature for long periods, the manufacturer is likely to recommend that a voltage de-rating factor be applied, i.e in this case, going from 10V to 16V gives extra peace of mind.

    You may encounter the odd, be-whiskered, stick-in the-mud old techie who'll solemnly tell you that this type of capacitor ("electrolytic") needs to be operated close to its rated voltage for longevity- I'm afraid that this is one of those persistent, grandfather-to-father-to-son-type pieces of received wisdom that still lingers from decades ago. It's true that the much less sophisticated, high voltage (300-500V) electrolytic types associated with valve circuitry (yes, that long ago!) could, paradoxically, suffer deterioration of their chemical insulating film if operated at much lower voltages over a long period of time but, since then, a lot of water has passed under the bridge, not to mention money and effort in component development, and this effect is completely insignificant here. Open up pretty much any radio, hi-fi component etc. and you're likely to see lots of 40-50V capacitors, many of which will never see more than a volt or two of DC in their lives- it don't do them any 'arm.

    Sleep easy on this one- honest!:smashin:
     
  2. oakley13

    oakley13
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great thread. Thanks guys! :smashin:

    I will be performing the same surgery on my newly crapped-out RDI once I have all the bits together. Being an electronics DIY noob, I needed to buy a soldering kit and thought other folks might appreciate this heads up - there is what appears to be a decent little kit available via Amazon here for only c.£7: 4 Piece 30W Electronic Soldering Set + Lead Free Solder: Amazon.co.uk: DIY & Tools. I have ordered the kit and once it arrives I will get busy and let you know how it goes.

    One thing's for sure. I will burn myself on the soldering iron. Every time I touched one of the blasted things at school I ended up in pain! :laugh:

    Cheers.
    Dave.
     
  3. jbomber

    jbomber
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    :clap:
    Thanks guys. Capacitors arrived this am and jobs a good'un.

    I now have 3 spare capacitors, tho I doubt the rest of the kit could handle my soldering again!

    Now at least I can listen to PlanetRock whilst trying to sort our leaking washer/dryer!

    Many thanks for your help and for those of you yet to tackle the task go for it. £1.78 and I didn't set foot outside the house.:thumbsup:
     
  4. jbomber

    jbomber
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sadly this morning the display isn't working. It appears to have power (you can see it change colour on power up and you can see the pixel blocks also. Any ideas anyone? Many thanks
     
  5. Thirst4Know

    Thirst4Know
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +4
    Is the display in the form of a sub-module connected to the rest of the set by a section of ribbon cable? (They're frequently a "brought-in" item incorporated in this way.) If so, the individual cores can have very fine and brittle strands- even if you're careful when dismantling/re-assembling, it's possible to catch/shift the ribbon and fracture one or more cores where they're soldered to the PCB pads. I've been guilty of this one myself on occasion, most recently with one of the well-known Matsui DA-1 DAB modules. Clipping it back together and powering up gave very similar symptoms- a brief "blocking" in the display, followed by blankness. Sure enough, there was a broken wire (this may take a close look to spot), re-soldering it brought a gratifying return to normality. A broken wire may have stayed in contact for a few days, a slight knock/movement or even expansion/contraction may have broken contact.

    LCD's can also suffer ageing of the contact strip between driver IC and actual display, but I think that the RDI's only been out about 3 years, so hopefully this one isn't rearing its head yet. Owners of older car radios, in particular (with their wider range of temperature/humidity fluctuation), may have encountered this one and it can be a bit of a PITA to achieve a consistent, long-term fix.

    Good luck!:)
     
  6. chaz1234

    chaz1234
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi I have just purchased a intempo pp o1
    otherwise Known as Poppet. the one that covers can be changed On and it has similar symptoms to the problems reported on the rdi unit. e.g dim display erratic behaviour and just generally un responsive. I am wondering if the problem may be the same e.g the capacitor. I would be very grateful for any replies.

    Thanks.
     
  7. jinx75

    jinx75
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi ya everyone,

    New to the forum, so hope I'm doing this right,lol.

    Like everyone else I'm having problems with the RDI dock...but mine seems to power off and on again when volume level is turned up to high...this will continue to happen unless I reduce the volume :rolleyes:. I've tried turning off from the main supply for about 15 mins or so and then seeing if that might sort it out...seems to work for a few minutes and starts playing up again. Have noticed to the left at the back of the unit gets quite hot when this happens...

    This is the second Intempo dock I have bought as the one I have now is out of warranty and the one I bought 5 months ago started to do the hissing, high pitched sound and to play my ipod, I had to tilt it at an angle. Took it back to Argos and got a refund.

    So was wondering if the advice to change the Capacitor will help??.
    Would very much appreciate someones help!.:lease:

    Kind regards
     
  8. ProperBoPeep

    ProperBoPeep
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've joined this forum just to say a massive THANK YOU to all those who posted this work around. The instructions were clear and the repair has worked perfectly.

    This is actually very easy- even if you have no previous experience.

    Forums like this a such a benefit of the Internet. Keep up the good work!!
     
  9. onewayoflife

    onewayoflife
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just found this forum after trying to find a solution to my broken RDI. An accident involving a cat and a shelf ended in my RDI hitting the floor! The speakers are still working right now and my ipod even plays through the speakers still! I have been able to find the DAB mode depite having no display and the radio seems to be working ok. The problems are as follows:

    1. The display window does not 'display' anymore

    2. The display window has a faint light behind it at all times, even when the unit is in standby mode

    3. The standby light stays red even when the RDI is playing music

    4. Remote control only controls the volume...no other buttons do anything

    Can anyone offer any advice on whether my RDI can by fixed or is a lost cause?

    Thanks in advance

    K
     
  10. ferkh10

    ferkh10
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    922
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +34
    another unhappy inTempo RDI owner here :rolleyes:

    Everything works fine on mine (radio, display, etc) but the ipod connection is a bit dodgy. If i put something behind the ipod like a tea coaster so that it pushes the ipod slightly forward then i get perfect sound - so the ipod is in the dock at a slight angle.
    Otherwise the connection is a bit dodgy and the sound is about 50% the volume it should be.

    Will changing the capacitor as beetleseb mentioned fix my problem? Mine sounds more like a PCB issue to me?

    ps. if you're reading these beetlesb you wouldnt be the same beetleseb that posts on SSVC would you. Small world if so :D
     
  11. jollytravellor

    jollytravellor
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great thread. Have registered mainly to says big thanks guys, initially to Beetleseb and then to johnspencer for the detailed instructions. Works a treat. The display was a bit unstable after powering up, but has settled down. Probably a connector not quite fully seated, but don't feel like taking apart again until it stops functioning. Worth taking care with the connectors when dismantling and reassembling. As this is clearly a systematic fault, Intempo might have advised owners - they have our registration details.
    I notice the cone of the rear speaker of my RDI is depressed. Is this normal? If not, any ideas on how to retract it.
     
  12. Beanie8421

    Beanie8421
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had exactly the same thing my iPod stopped playing then after a while no sound with the radio either, however I got in touch with Intempo to ask if there was anyway of getting it fixed and they just sent me out a brand new one and asked me to send the other one back, and it was about a 6 months out of its warranty. Great customer service I thought.
     
  13. thevans

    thevans
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    :thumbsup: Well would you Adam and Eve it!
    Just to add a further thank you to the bright folk up above. My dead RDi was lying in its box in the garage (having acquired an alternative). So I take it to bits (cracking the front plastic of course! :oops: ) and stare in to the 'gubbins' like an ape looking at the control wiring for a Saturn 5. Check for any loose wires or blown fuses ....none....that's my technical expertise gone then....about to throw it in to the bin (after cutting off the plug of course) when I think....oh I suppose I better go and search the net. Five minutes later I am ordering the capacitor from Maplins ....arrives the following day...with the new soldering iron I treated myself to.....useful search on how to replace capacitor in Google just to get a little extra info and away I go. Ten minutes of work and the unit is sitting happily with my iPod playing and looking and sounding as good as new (apart from the crack along the plastic face of course)
    Thanks Again folks:clap:
     
  14. ferkh10

    ferkh10
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    922
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +34
    anyone fixed a dodgy ipod connection on the inTempo as i described a few posts down?
     
  15. andrewtott

    andrewtott
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks everyone. 47p later and my intempo work again.
     
  16. ur1d1um

    ur1d1um
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Another huge thanks from me too. Wish I'd looked here ages ago! 70p capacitor and the RDI is alive again. Was so close to buying a brand new unit the other day too...
     
  17. uselessintempo

    uselessintempo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks to the very helpful posts in this forum, I have been trying to rectify the same fault with my radio. I am having real problems getting off the front panel - although most of the edges are now loose and separate from the main casing, there is a spot at the centre on the bottom which won't shift, and seems to be attached further inside. Does anyone have any advice on how to get the front panel off? Any help would be much appreciated.
     
  18. manuian

    manuian
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi to all you helpful guys out, my RD1 did everything but emit any sound. Went to a local Maplins and got the capacitor thingy for 42p. Printed out John Spencer's summary guide and Chris E's picture, gathered the appropriate tools and sat at the Dining room table ready to go. Front grille off safely, 8 screws undone and retrieved then spent the next hour gently(!) prising the unit apart. They must have sprayed the glue all round because I could hear it cracking and creaking. Eventually apart it came and I looked for the next 4 screws holding the control panel!?!?! So, just in case there is anyone else out there who is too stupid to realise the bit with the buttons is the control panel, that is the tricky bit apparently. :oops: I don't need those four screws now!! How I broke it off without cracking or breaking any controls only the Gods know! So, just to repeat for any other dopes out there, take the 8 screws out then prise the CONTROL PANEL (the bit with the buttons below the speaker grille) off, undo those 4 screws then part the unit. Anyway I carried on, the markings on the capacitor are different to the one on the board, but there are some little triangular markings on the top so I just faced those the same way as the different markings on the original. Managed to free the old capacitor and a few blobs of solder later reconnected the unit before actually screwing it back together, I didn't see the need to screw it together if it did not work, and....... blooming heck, I had sound!! Had to break off the defunct long support legs for the control panel as they wouldn't sit properly, but it is working and I do feel smug if not a little foolish. :suicide: Thanks to all for advice and help, brilliant! :thumbsup:
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2010
  19. uselessintempo

    uselessintempo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    [So, just in case there is anyone else out there who is too stupid to realise the bit with the buttons is the control panel, that is the tricky bit apparently]

    I am indeed too stupid, thank you so much, it's come apart, and I'll get the necessary from Maplin tomorrow to finish the job.
     
  20. lancsdata

    lancsdata
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks to everyone who took the trouble to give advice regarding fixing the soundless Intempo! Can't believe that I fixed it for £0.64p plus the cost of a soldering kit from Maplin at £4.99! At 61 years old with no electrical knowledge thats what you call a BIG BIG result! Many many thanks!
     
  21. tagun

    tagun
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just like to add my thanks for this tip. Haven't used a soldering iron for years and a little ham fisted but I managed to repair my prematurely dead RDi for 42p!

    Overall I have been happy with the RDi - DAB and decent sound quality but failing so soon - not good. Given many have experienced the same problem obviously a design/manufacturing error.

    Thank you.
     
  22. djilly0905

    djilly0905
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Having had the same symptoms as just about every other owner of an RDi, I was just about to throw it away as Intempo themselves refused to help because I didn't have the receipt, I found this thread and applied the fix. Cost £1.58, time circa 1 hr - RDi - fixed! Fantastic advice. Thanks.
     
  23. beeman

    beeman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had taken our RDI to a specialist place for repair & they were not interested!

    Now it is back to normal.

    Many thanks to beetleseb for the fix and to John Spencer for the detailed instructions.

    My tip is - if you didn't check the position (way round) of the capacitor when you take it out - the circuit board is printed with a circle, with a lug on one side. Fit the capacitor with it's negative same side as this lug.

    Great not to have to throw a good unit away!

    :thumbsup:
     
  24. Walesy33

    Walesy33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you everyone on this tread for your detailed descriptions on how to repair my intempo RDI. I brought mine from a car boot sale on Sunday! The bloke wanted £5 for it!!! I knew it was worth a lot more than a fiver so knew it would not work when I got it home so I offered him £1.50 as it didnt have a remote control!!! He accepted with a big grin on his face!! He did say he could not guarantee it for that price!!!! When I got it home I rushed to turn it on! Only to feel really disappointed when the only noise to come from it was a load hissing sound! Although I had only paid £1.50 and knew deep down it wouldn't work I still felt cheated!

    Not to be defeated I typed in google " my intempo won't work" and BINGO I came across this site!!! On the Monday in my lunch hour I went to maplin with the tread on my phone and got the part I needed! For 65p! After work I rushed home! Read all the instructions very carefully!! 20 minutes later I put my iPhone on my intempo RDI and it works perfectly!!!

    My intempo RDI cost me £2.15 and works great, sounds great all thanks to you guys! You really want to be proud of this tread! Very proud.


    Thanks again to you all.
     
  25. Ftumptch

    Ftumptch
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Washington Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just to reiterate the above thanks for all who posted how to fix a common problem,bought 10 capacitors (only £1.14 off E bay) soldered it in and I had my doubts but works perfect, next step was throwing it in the bin...again thanks to everyone
     
  26. chatfieg

    chatfieg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the same capacitor problem with my 2.5 year old RDi & repaired it about 6 months ago. Then a few weeks back, the whole power supply failed. I sent the unit back to Ultimate Products with a polite letter along the lines of "...some of the components in the product were not fit for purpose, as many dozens of people on the AVForums website have suffered similar problems."

    They fixed the Rdi free of charge & I received it back today in full working order. The only cost was £7(ish) postage.
     
  27. badgerman

    badgerman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +24
    First soldering in 20 years!

    Sorted out my dusty rdi for a tenner with iron.

    What else can you do with a soldering iron?
     
  28. srhdean

    srhdean
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    You read all the threads above and you think "will it really work for me"? And you give it a go, and it does. AMAZING! You guys are legends! Fixed all the little buggy features that my RDI had - especially with iPod sound dropping off. Great, thanks!
     
  29. Kieranfunzig

    Kieranfunzig
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Very satisfying to fix this and not and not increase landfill. THANK YOU for the easy step by step instructions. It has been nearly 30 years since i used a soldering iron at school and it now works!
     
  30. Dr Bob

    Dr Bob
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Many thanks to all who have given instructions on how to repair an Intempo RDI.

    My first RDI failed within the 2 year warranty period and the replacement Intempo sent failed approx 14 months later - so I ended up with 2 non-functioning RDI units.

    Before purchasing a (non-Intempo) replacement, I googled and found this forum.

    A cycle ride to Maplins and an outlay of under 50p each for the 2 new recommended parts and hey presto! I now have 2 fully working RDI units - what a result.:clap:

    I'm no electronics spod but with a little help from the forum I am now a very happy Dr Bob :)

    Once again thanks for all your help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice