1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

problem with Future Ent.

Discussion in 'Movie Forum' started by marcoeser, Sep 17, 2002.

  1. marcoeser

    marcoeser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    340
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hello,
    I have a problem with Future Ent.'s ordering system. I'd like to ask if anyone else is having the same problem.

    Every Order I make I'm charged twice (seen on my credit card statement), and then I have to email them to get a refund. They have been Ok about the refunds luckily :) but it's very annoying. :mad:

    I've asked for advise but they haven't replied.

    The only thing I can think of is computer incompatibility. Is there anyone using an Apple mac and microsoft's internet explorer and not having this problem? I know dvdboxoffice used to have a problem with this computer/program combination.

    I'm completly lost for any other ideas, I don't know whats going wrong.:confused: Does anyone have any ideas?

    Thanks,
    marc
     
  2. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,631
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,023
    can only think that maybe when you click submit button to send order that it may 'time out' and then you press back button and send again. If not then I haven't got a clue. I use future every week and have never had the problem.
     
  3. Brigadeer

    Brigadeer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Use Netscape on Apple Mac NOT Microsoft...Javascript compatability problems or something...
     
  4. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44
    Is your mouse click speed set very fast and 'maybe' it's a double click when you order? Just guessing out loud.
     
  5. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    I wouldnt have a clue really either, I cant think of anything better than General Skanky. I personally would probably not even notice.....think you have just made me turn a new leaf to check my statement better!

    Ad
     
  6. Phil Hinton

    Phil Hinton
    Editor Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2001
    Messages:
    9,790
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    AVForums
    Ratings:
    +7,193
    Once your order is submitted Do not click on the back button! but use the link on the page that comes up, there is a explaination on the page, but it is not very noticable or clear.

    Hope this helps.
     
  7. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,927
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,662
    There are millions of ways to program an online ordering system and you have to strip out lots of useful features to make them compatible with Netscape.
    Not surprising that some companies have problems when they have a limited budget to develop their websites.
    Problems using the back button is one symptom.
    I know for a fact that the forums and all the other websites I create look horrendous in Netscape... at least 4.something installed on my machine...when it doesn't crash.
    Negligable number of users, now, anyway.
     
  8. Azrikam

    Azrikam
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had this same thing happen to me when ordering from Futureent last week. (Win2k IE 5.?)

    I had brought up the secure ordering page with the Futureent page left open in another window. Before submitting the order, I jumped back to the other window to check something. I then jumped back to the secure window and confirmed the order. When I looked at the original Futureent window, one of my order items (of which there were 2) had been added a 2nd time.

    They were quick to cancel the dupe item but now I know not to go jumping between windows when I'm placing an order. I don't know if this is the same thing you did, but there's probably numerous ways to mess up their ordering system.
     
  9. marcoeser

    marcoeser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    340
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    I think next time I order I'll use Brigadeer's suggestion of Netscape and see what happens on my statement.
    After the first order I was very careful not to press the back buttons, jump around windows and follow always the on screen instructions. But the problem still persists. On the screen the order says that i'm only ordering 1 but I'm still charged twice, by the 2 entries on the statement for the same amount and same date from "personal imports"

    I would check your statements carefully, you might be shocked at what you find :eek:

    oh well, i'll see what happens next month on my statement.

    marc
    :confused:
     
  10. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    Forgive me for my stupidity if im wong here, but if the item appears on your statement twice, should you not be receiving the dvd twice? If futureent were to bill me twice and only send one item, then proceed to blame my checking out, i think i would have a thing or two to say!

    Ad
     
  11. marcoeser

    marcoeser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    340
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    buns, thats the whole problem. for the last 3 months this has been going on. They have been giving me the refunds but they won't tell me whats wrong. A part of me believes that they don't care, they actually make some money out of it if you don't notice the problem.
    marc
     
  12. dorgan

    dorgan
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've ordered from them a few times and never had a problem, using OSX and IE5.
    If you find that it is somehow down to IE try using Opera, where java is concerned this is much better.
     

Share This Page

Loading...