Problem with DVD player and projector in Progressive scan

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Italo Tettoni, Jun 5, 2004.

  1. Italo Tettoni

    Italo Tettoni
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2001
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have an Hitachi PJ-TX10 projector and a Toshiba SD-900EE DVD player. In
    'Progressive' mode I get what looks like electrical intereference on the
    signal (waves accross the image) and I am unable to get into the setup menu
    of the player. In 'Interlaced' mode the wave like interference is almost
    nonexistent (but still there if you look for it) and I can get into the setup menu OK.

    The player has been sent for service and the 'robot' from Toshiba got on the
    phone today and tried to convince me that it is the projectors fault, the
    DVD player is fine (can't find anything wrong) and that it's some sort of
    incompatibility between the player and the projector.

    Incompatibility? Isn't Component 'Progressive' a DVD standard like a
    Composite/Svideo/RGB Scart connection? What possible 'incompatibility' could
    he be talking about?

    I have high quality Component cables and I have also tested the projector with (a rented) bottom-of-the-line SONY 'Progressive' DVD player which worked perfectly.

    Any help or advice is greatly appreciated.

    cheers
    --
    Italo
     
  2. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    have you tried the component input of the projector with an alternative source? have you tried the dvd player component output with an alternative display?

    ad
     
  3. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    ARENT SD900 interlaced output only? turn off progressive mode it must be a Quasi system that PJ doesnot like.
     
  4. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    Im sure i posted to this ealier but must off mest it up,
    the 900 ee is NTSC progressive only.
    If you use PAL discs it sticks it in a Quasi mode which just isnt as good as the real thing. So in truth its not pal prog compatable. Hence why your seeing line break up and lots of judder no doubt.
     
  5. GAmbrose

    GAmbrose
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +76
    Sounds like that. I had the same problem when I bought a Pioneer 565 which also only does NTSC Progressive scan.

    When watching PAL discs it would internally convert them to a 60hz NTSC signal when set to 'Progressive' mode. The image looked horrible most of the time, especially in TV series. People would appear with large black lines through them.

    In the end I had to change the player and get a Sony DVPNS930V which does PAL progressive scan aswell.

    Gary A
     

Share This Page

Loading...