1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem displaying pictures

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Bogside, Jan 12, 2004.

  1. Bogside

    Bogside
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3,010
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Stockport (ex Derry)
    Ratings:
    +368
    Background

    Last month I unfortunately clicked on a site which has downloaded a program to my PC which has changed the "home" address on internet explorer. Even when I tried to change it back to my default it would revert to some crappy search engine site.

    To resolve the problem I decided to delete all down loaded programs for the date when it roughly occured. This solved the problem for me.

    But it's created a worse one for me:

    Now my pc won't display pictures unless I tell it to. So when I open a site it shows pictures as blanks with a small coloured box on the right hand side. I then have to right click on the picture and click on "show picture" to get the picture displayed. This happens with any picture at all no matter how uncomplicated (even the forums logo at the top and the banner adds, the smilies, the post pictures etc.!)

    I've gone into options and made sure the "show pictures" box is ticked but I think I've obviously deleted some vital program. (If it matters I'm using Windows 2000)

    Can anyone help me solve this (sorry for the length of this post)
     
  2. tryingtimes

    tryingtimes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +548
    Hmmm - sounds like a case of reinstall IE to me.
    I'd download the latest direct from microsoft.com I think.
    or switch to a different browser - I find it hard to fault Opera these days.

    HTH
    Alex
     
  3. Bogside

    Bogside
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3,010
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Stockport (ex Derry)
    Ratings:
    +368
    Is it free to download IE?
     
  4. MatC

    MatC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Go here and click the download now button.

    Hope you've got broadband, or this is going to take ages...

    Next go here and download "AdAware" which will remove all the spyware you've managed to collect, this is what's probably resetting your home page. Make sure you let it delete everything it finds.

    Finally use the windows update feature to get all the critical patches you can.

    Do that and you should be fine!
     
  5. tryingtimes

    tryingtimes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +548
    It certainly is. :)
    (it's their trojan horse :D )
     
  6. Bogside

    Bogside
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3,010
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Stockport (ex Derry)
    Ratings:
    +368
    Thanks guys. Gave me the perfect solution and (fingers crossed) everything seems to be fine now.
     
  7. tryingtimes

    tryingtimes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +548
    Good stuff
     

Share This Page

Loading...