1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Probelm with Sony 32 inch Widescreen

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by scooby do, Mar 28, 2003.

  1. scooby do

    scooby do
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,760
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +37
    Tv is a couple of years old and has a strange fault that hopefully someone on here can give me some pointers. When the Tv is first switched on the remote will control the TV for about 10 seconds after this time has gone the TV will no longer respond to the remote. Any ideas?
     
  2. Miles@9

    Miles@9
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Scooby Do

    Probably stating the obvious, but it could be flat batteries in your remote.

    Got to rule out the easy ones first.

    Miles.
     
  3. evans

    evans
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,161
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +36
    there is a way you can elimate if it is the remote or the tv by buying a universal remote and see if it works okay with that , if it does not then it is the tv at fault, if it does then it is your remote control at fault
     
  4. scooby do

    scooby do
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,760
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +37
    definately think its the Tv as the person who's TV it is has tried another Sony remote and same thing happens!
     
  5. Miles@9

    Miles@9
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Scooby Do

    Do you know if the TV is left on Standby or turned off when not in use?

    Might be worth turning off at the mains for a few minutes. Then power up again. This some times clears Logic faults in systems,
    don't know why, but there you go.

    I've got Sony 32" Wega which locks up from time to time. Doesn't respond to the remote from stand by. I just turn it off with the main power button on the set which seems to clear the problem.

    Miles.
     

Share This Page

Loading...