Probably been asked 100 times before which player for my needs?

Discussion in 'Video Streaming Boxes & Services' started by Khans, Nov 9, 2017.

  1. Khans

    Khans
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,218
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    sheffield
    Ratings:
    +164
    I have looked at lots of threads in this forum and most likely narrowed it down to 2 players nvidea shield 2017 or zidoo x9.
    I want 4k DTS HD MA atmos.
    Kodi

    Ethernet port.

    Ease of use
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2017
  2. Khans

    Khans
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,218
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    sheffield
    Ratings:
    +164
    Sorry i have a hp microserver where most my rips are stored which is setup as my freenas and will be adding a second microserver
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2017
  3. RichardWiz

    RichardWiz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    I would go for the Nvidia and use Plex to stream your rips
     
  4. Khans

    Khans
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,218
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    sheffield
    Ratings:
    +164
    Any reason why plex over kodi?
     
  5. RichardWiz

    RichardWiz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    Depending on your player devices?
    If you install Plex server on your HP you will be able to access your rips from almost any device, anywhere

    While Kodi is simply a media player that can access network storage

    I you are only going to access your rips on devices running Kodi that you probably don't need Plex,
    for example I have a HiSense Smart TV which have Plex so I can access my library from it

    I also have Kodi running on my Mi Box and Minix - so I mix them both
     
  6. Khans

    Khans
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,218
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    sheffield
    Ratings:
    +164
    Yeah I only use in tv room and like the kodi look and movie wall.

    At the moment I have mainly blurays rips in mix iso mkv. And a couple of disks UHD atmos which when available I will rip into the nas. From what I read the Nvidia is the most powerful android box available (better be as it's the most expensive) but doesn't auto refresh.
    Did read the thread and am 90%sure I read on the thread that nvidea are not fixing This.
     
  7. Khans

    Khans
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,218
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    sheffield
    Ratings:
    +164
    I am going go ask the question probably in the nvidea thread.
     
  8. RichardWiz

    RichardWiz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    Not sure what do you mean by not auto refreshing? I have the Mi Box which is also an Android TV box and I run both Plex and Kodi on it and both refresh the library directory - Plex is much better at that

    By the way if you are also watching live TV - I just saw a great deal on the vbox 4K network tuner, I am using it as my PVR VBox | Watch live TV on your iPad, tablet, PC, Mac
     
  9. figrin_dan

    figrin_dan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,067
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +170
    Is the HP Microserver powerful enough to run Plex? I tried it on mine and it wasn't up to it.
     
  10. Khans

    Khans
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,218
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    sheffield
    Ratings:
    +164
    Probably going to get the shield and run kodi
     
  11. nigelbb

    nigelbb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +491
    If you have decent clients that can Direct Play your media then the load on your Plex server is very low. Before I moved all my media to Google Drive & started using Plex Cloud my Plex server was a 4TB Seagate Personal Cloud which must be just about the lowest powered NAS available that can run PMS.
     
  12. RichardWiz

    RichardWiz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    I think that if you are not transcoding multiple streams you don't need powerful hardware to run Plex
     

Share This Page

Loading...