1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pro V prog scan converter

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Jack the lad, May 14, 2003.

  1. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    Hi I need help?
    I have just seen one of these advertised in Richer Sounds at £149.
    Anyone know what it does and would it be any good for linking my DVD (non prog scan), Sky+ to my PT AE 300 projector?

    Cheers
     
  2. bxd

    bxd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +136
    Hi,

    Don't go to Richer Sounds .... You can pick these up from elsewhere for much less....Scan often have them for less than £100 on their daily offers. Search on the Plasma and LCD forums where the ProV and the XGA Theater (same thing) have been discussed previously.

    Brian
     
  3. jonny m

    jonny m
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Messages:
    405
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    You'd be better off getting the prov+ with nicam/teletext/better encoder @avsales, they are forums sponsers and advertise this regularly.
     
  4. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    Thanks guys,

    Any idea what they do? Do they convert interlaced into prog scan or are they the other way around?
     
  5. azzo

    azzo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    IMO Stay well clear, they suffer from macrovision and
    artefact problems. I had one for a couple of weeks and had to sell it on. I just couldn't live with it. They do not do proper deinterlacing using 3:2 or 2:2 pulldown detecction and are more of a scaler than deinterlacer (Providing you like a standard S/V/XGA setting)
    Azzo
     
  6. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    Cheer Azzo,

    Considered the Pro V a bad thought!

    Thanks Guys
     
  7. calscot

    calscot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    659
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alternative products seem to be:

    Lektropaks CSC1200T £199
    BriteView £320
    iScan Pro £393

    There seems to be a lack of conclusive feedback on all of them and I'm not sure whether any of them is worth it or maybe it's just better to get a Pal Prog DVD player eg

    Limit 9900 £149
    Marantz 4300 £255
    Harmon Kardon 25 £290
    Philips 963 £308

    But none of them seem to have great feedback either but they do seem better value than the deinterlacers as they're cheaper and they're also a DVD player. Are the deinterlacers much better even though they can't do the prog scan in the digital domain?

    Can anyone give us GOOD advice about which to buy or should we wait for newer, better, cheaper products?

    Cheers,
    Cal.
     
  8. azzo

    azzo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    DItto.
    I am on the edge of ordering an Iscan Pro for my AE100 but just can't decide whether a PAL PS DVD player would be better and leave my PS2/GC with interlaced component.
    Azzo.
     
  9. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,520
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,007
    dont hesitate, if you have the AE100, get an Iscan. I had one with my AE100 and it was fantastic and best bit is you can route just about anything through it.
    Sky+ through it was excellent and then of course you have lush DVD..and finally any console you put through it will shine (unless you have the option of running the console progressive direct into the PJ)

    After owning an Iscan (still use it with my HS10) I'd have no hesitation in recommending it..
     
  10. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    GC can output PS via the digital port can't it? just a thought.
    Also the Pro V+ is supposed to be a big improvement over the original due to alot of complaints about faults. I dont own one so this is just what i have read, keene have the Pro V+ as far as i know!
     
  11. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,520
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,007
    if the GC is an import machine then it can do progressive on compatible games. There are suggestions a UK GC can also do PS with a freeloader and import games.
     

Share This Page

Loading...