Pro-Logic II vs Pro-Logic

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by b33k34, May 23, 2005.

1. b33k34

b33k34

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm completely new to home theatre so I'm riding a bit of a learning curve going on at the moment. I'd always been a bit dubious about the benefits of home theatre before but watching my first few 5.1 movies at home last night was stunning. The effects are so much better than at the cinema due to your near perfect positioning in the sound stage.

Anyway, what I'm wondering about is what to use for normal TV transmissions. I've currently got my TV setting as pro-logic II in movie mode. My amp, however also has 'old' pro-logic as a different input. I've done a bit of reading on the Dolby site and elsewhere and it appears pl-II is backwards compatible. What situations might i want to use PL-I for rather than PL-II?

Kit:
    NAD743amp, 513 DVD, Monitor Audio Radius 270LR/225C/90S/360sub.

2. MarkE19

MarkE19

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,441
    IMO the only reason for putting DPL1 on a receiver is so you can go back to it to see how much better DPL2 is :D
    Seriously though, DPL1 is poor compared to DPL2 and IMO should not be used - same as the DSP effects such as 'stadium' etc. They are OK to play with, but not something I would use for general listening on my system.

If your system has it also try DTS Neo6 as some people prefer this to DPL2.

Mark.

3. eviljohn2

eviljohn2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +208
    There aren't any possible reasons that I can think of why you'd want to use the original PL over PL2, PL2 is much better in every way. Unfortunately neither will do a great job with a mono soundtrack. :)

4. b33k34

b33k34

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0