1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pro Logic II lacking in Bass

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Dom H, Sep 19, 2002.

  1. Dom H

    Dom H
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Denon 3802, speakers set to small, x-overed @ 80Hz, levels calibrated.

    Pro logic seems to be lacking bass, upping the sub level 8-10dB seems to do the trick, any ideas?

    Dolby Digital/DTS/Stereo all work fine.
     
  2. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,276
    Does the 3802 actually use the sub for PL2? I am sure I answered a thread on this a month or two ago.
     
  3. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,905
    It must do otherwise all Bose users would only hear a squeak otherwise.

    There is no LFE channel so there won't be the amount of bass that is present in a 5.1 DVD
     
  4. Dave Taylor

    Dave Taylor
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    Messages:
    281
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks
    Ratings:
    +17
    I thought the same, the 3802 & 2802 sounded very thin in PL2, DVD's 5.1 sounded great.

    Check out the thread below

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=26545

    I returned my 2802 because of the lack of bass in PL2.

    I am trying out a Yamaha 630, that sounds good / normal in PL2
    the Denon sounded thin in PL2
     
  5. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,276
  6. Dom H

    Dom H
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Still can't find any outcome in those threads, just seems that PL2 sends a very low level output to the sub (I reckon it's down about 8dB)
     
  7. juboy

    juboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's the opposite 2802 experience to mine. I find I have to turn my sub up when watching DVDs as the sub is too over powering at that level when using PLII, especially on Sky music channels.

    The handy thing about REL subs is that I can memorize the 'notches'difference on the volume control between the two optimum levels so it's not too much of a chore.
     
  8. jGrahamD

    jGrahamD
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    263
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have the new cheapo Pioneer VSX-C100 and likewise found I needed to turn the subwoofer up for PL2. However, I recently tried the s-bass function (I normally avoid such things like the plague) and found that it works really well with PL2. Just turning up the subwoofer still left out the lower middle frequencies, but if I leave the subwoofer level alone (as set for DD, DTS) and just switch in the s-bass, it sounds very close to to 5.1 DD. The other nice thing (don't know if all amps do this) is that it remembers which sound mode you select for each source. So I can select s-bass for the VCR source, but when I switch to DVD it will be be disabled (unless I have enabled it for that source too). I'm quite happy with my £190 worth.
     

Share This Page

Loading...