1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

pro-logic ?? complete novice

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by saddo, Mar 29, 2005.

1. saddo

saddo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just brought a JVC tv with built in pro-logic
    i also have an analogue NTL cable box and a toshiba video and a phillips dvd player
    i have a few questions
    i hooked up the rear speakers but not much come out of them
    does the BBC or ITV broadcast pro-logic ?
    does NTL analogue cable broadcast pro-logic
    most dvds seem to have 5.1 sound do they also carry pro-loigic
    what about videos and pro-logic
    what use is the pro-logic ??
    do i sound like i have no idea what its all about

Thanks to all you clever people out there

2. Zacabeb

Zacabeb

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    It's hard to explain the principle of Dolby Pro Logic without getting a bit technical, so bear with me. :)

Dolby Pro Logic is primarily intended for programming that was mixed especially for it. Strictly, such programming is referred to as being Dolby Surround encoded. The system originates from movie sound, where it is part of the Dolby Stereo standard.

Dolby Surround is based on the principle that in regular 2-channel stereo, there are greater similarities than differences between the left and right channels. That leaves room to "encode" surround sound by mixing it equally into left and right but with opposite polarities, making it different between left and right. The surround content can then be extracted upon playback by comparing the left and right channels, and steering the sound to each of the output channels with regard to the similarities and differences.