Privacy

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by bluecigar, Oct 6, 2018.

1. bluecigar

bluecigar

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi,

Firstly, apologies if this has already been discussed in detail. I've had a quick look at the forums and didn't find a thread, however if there is one please feel free to link me to it.

I work in the IT industry so would consider myself reasonably tech-savvy, however I haven't kept as up to date as I believe that I should have with regards to security / privacy over the past few years.

I find myself becoming increasingly aware that my (our) privacy is becoming more and more threatened. I use the following services:

• iCloud - Sync of media, backup of iOS configuration etc
    • Outlook (free) - personal mail
    • Sky broadband
    • Social media (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram) - fairly static on these to be honest, but registered and use the mobile apps every day
    I'm sure that there a more, but I suppose that the above are the main ones.

I use LastPass for password management, with mostly unique passwords for accounts, and will be using 2FA where possible.

I'm interested in what everyone does with regards to increasing their privacy (if at all), taking into consideration the above, but also privacy when web browsing, hardware (servers / firewalls) for home etc.

I'm not going to go extreme, but I'm considering private mail hosting services (such as Proton Mail), private media hosting on my own hardware (or encrypted Virtual Machine within a cloud service such as Azure), hardware for at home etc. They probably won't be too difficult to implement, but it would be good to see what everyone else is doing.

Thanks,
    Craig

2. rousetafarian

rousetafarian

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +14,413
    Perhaps a forum username change may be a small step, if not to improve security necessarily but enhance forum anonymity.

3. rousetafarian

rousetafarian

Products Owned: