Previous gen consoles and Panny 32PD30

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by t-force, Aug 21, 2003.

  1. t-force

    t-force
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,852
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Ratings:
    +143
    Apologies for adding another PD30 thread, but as far as I can see, this appears to be a new issue. Also, if the mods think this is more suited to games consoles, please accept my apologies and move it.

    I finally took delivery of my Panasonic PD30 a couple of days ago, after waiting a very long time for my insurance people to get hold of one for me.

    Until this evening, everything seemed fine - great picture, etc. But this evening, I fired up my PS1, and I noticed something very odd: every few seconds (about 5-ish) the picture would jump, moving about 2 cms up the screen, and then down again. I thought first of all that this might be a problem with the game I was playing, as it was new, so I tried another. Same thing happened. OK, so maybe the PS1 is playing up, it's ancient after all, so I fired up my N64, and that was doing the same thing.

    I've got them both connected up using S-video connections, although I tested the PS1 with a composite as well, and it did exactly the same thing.

    Has anyone come across this with a PD30, or indeed any other TV? My old 32FX60 didn't do this, even after it had been written off!!

    Thanks in advance,

    Toby
     
  2. BrianC

    BrianC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,199
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +101
    I've noticed this with my PAL dreamcast (hooked up via RGB Scart) playing JPN Samba de Amigo via the DC-X boot disk. It only seems to happen during the start of the game? I put this down to the scart lead - I usually have my DC hooked up to a monitor via a VGA adapter.

    Are you able to test an RGB scart input for the PS1?
     
  3. t-force

    t-force
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,852
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Ratings:
    +143
    Don't know whether I'll be able to test the RGB on the PS1 - I'll have to hunt out a cable, but the RGB on my Gamecube works like a charm.
     
  4. Turisu

    Turisu
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What scan mode are you using, does changing it make a difference?
    I haven't had this problem, but all my PS1 games are NTSC. All I notice is that the absence of the scanlines makes them look crappier, but definitely no jumping.
     
  5. t-force

    t-force
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,852
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Ratings:
    +143
    Changing the scan mode appears to make absolutely no difference at all.

    'Tis most odd. Anybody else got any ideas as to what could be causing this?
     
  6. t-force

    t-force
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,852
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Ratings:
    +143
    Guess it's a call to Panasonic then to see if I can sort out the problem, unless anyone thinks I might be able to solve it in the service menu.

    Speaking of which, does anyone know how to get into the service menu?
     
  7. Turisu

    Turisu
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't think the service menu will be of much use as it seems quite limited in terms of the number of settings you can adjust, but here's the procedure anyways:

    Turn BASS to MAXIMUM
    Turn TREBLE to MINIMUM
    Press -/V button on the FRONT of the TV control panel WHILE pressing the INDEX button on the remote.

    This should bring you into the service mode.

    Now use RED or GREEN to go up or down thru menu options

    and use YELLOW / BLUE to increase / decrease

    Press STR to store your change
     
  8. t-force

    t-force
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,852
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Ratings:
    +143
    What's really curious about the problem is that when the two Sony logos appear when the PS1 boots up, there's no problem with the jumping, but as soon as it loads the game, the jumping starts. I think a call to Panasonic is on the cards.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice