Answered Preparing for TV Setup

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by Godders9, Jan 4, 2018.

  1. Godders9

    Godders9
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi all,

    We are in the middle of decorating a living room in a house we'll move to in Feb/March. We have an electrician fitting two plug sockets in to a wall on which our TV will sit. He asked if we'd like HDMI cables run behind the wall as part of his work, which seems a good idea.

    We plan to have a soundbar plus Sky Q which I presume both require HDMI cables? I may also get one included for my xBox.

    If we pre-fit a HDMI cable is that going to cause issue when Sky engineers come to install Sky Q in the next month or two? Are they likely to be fussy, I guess not?

    Feel free to move this to the appropriate forum!

    Thanks
     
  2. Best Answer:
    Post #2 by EndlessWaves, Jan 4, 2018 (1 points)
  3. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,885
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,532
    Best Answer
    There's no reason they should be, HDMI cables are standardised.

    Consider fitting ethernet cables too for internet connectivity. It's also worth seeing if you can fit channels/ducts instead of the actual cables so you can replace them in future without replastering.
     
  4. Godders9

    Godders9
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thanks. That's a good point regards to replacement. I think everything should be wireless so wasn't planning on including an ethernet cable unless I'm missing something?
     
  5. ThePaps

    ThePaps
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    Ethernet cabling is inexpensive so definitely worth doing, makes the internet connection more stable hard wired over wireless.
     
  6. choddo

    choddo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,355
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +477
    Wireless can be extremely annoying and crappy. I've got a 5 AP mesh and still get problems.
     
  7. adam-burnley

    adam-burnley
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    4,561
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Burnley
    Ratings:
    +2,410
    I fitted 40mm trunking in the wall to my TV, so that is good advice.

    Make sure you run a High Speed HDMI cable (or 2 / 3) - Amazon Basics High Speed ones are fine, don't spend more... provided the length is less than 8m.

    A Cat6 cable is a good idea, as is a USB cable.
     
  8. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,885
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,532
    Maybe the wi-fi will work fine for what you want to do. However, CAT6 cable is so cheap and so flexible it's a good idea to add it whenever you get the opportunity. It's well under 50p per meter so it's likely to add less than a tenner in material costs and won't take much more time than just putting in the HDMI cables.
     
  9. Godders9

    Godders9
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thanks all. Will give thought to both USB and Ethernet cables. As you point out, they cost nothing so no biggy on that front. Any pictures of your setups for those?
     

Share This Page

Loading...