1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

premodded xboxes

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by G a f f e r, Sep 21, 2004.

  1. G a f f e r

    G a f f e r
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,907
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    U.K.
    Ratings:
    +491
    I've been thinking about a new console for some time now and this forum seems to mainly recommend either www.baldbouncer.com.uk or www.premodded.co.uk (now just premodded.com).

    Baldbouncer Problem.
    Ive got my eye on the crystal xbox chiped with xcecutor 3 pro, but the site itself says that the spec listed may not be what you get !!! :suicide:
    There is no way to contact the company as they do not make their e-mail address available (sounds a bit dodgy to me).
    Doesn't list if it has a samsung DVD drive or not.
    I want a 120Gb HD in there but there is no indication it would have one, nor if the company would fit one in (even as a extra).
    £250 for this one OR:

    premodded problem.
    They keep changing their site. The new one is httP://premodded.com but doesn't load 'cos the "server does not exist"
    They did have a tempting offer of a standard xbox with smartxx v6 (or something) and software pre-installed and a 120Gb HD (maxtor) for £235 (about). Still no indication of wether it has the samsung dvd drive or not. Site doesn't load/exist.

    Question: which version or chip is better? I'm not very impressed with either of these sites so are there any others you would solidly recommend?

    Thanx for any help
     
  2. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
  3. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,154
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +45
    I have no idea about chips, sorry. I have an older one and it seems to do everything I need. I think in general they are all pretty much the same.

    Premodded are excellent. I have used the a couple of times and a lot of my friends have now too. Great service.

    You can choose to have a Samsung DVD drive with them and they do a nice job of preloading all the software you need. If you ask nicely they also (well they did, it's been a while) will put on the latest Emus and ROMS...

    Cheers
    Marc
     
  4. Squiffy

    Squiffy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    9,853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Ashford, Kent
    Ratings:
    +2,970
    I used premodded to get a Crystal Xbox with 120gb, SmartXX chip and different coloured LEDs.

    Top notch service, and a quality machine. Never been a bit of bother.
     
  5. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,772
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +827
    Gaffer, Bald Bouncer is great, hes done 4 xboxes for me i've met him twice and i can say that he is one of the nicest guys i've met. (but he does look very scary though) oh and hes got a really great dog!!!

    I've recommended him to quite a few people and no one has ever complained.



    Gary
     
  6. Rob20

    Rob20
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,661
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +388
    I have a few questions about modded XBox's.

    1) can you disable the mod chip if you want to go online. I've heard a modded machine will be banned from live if spotted?

    2) Can you play games from HDD. Would be a lot easier just to load them all on, then select them from the HDD?

    3) Will it play games from USA?

    4) are modded XBOX's reliable?

    5) can you now output a 720p or 1080i signal, (what about 420/565p)?
     
  7. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,154
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +45
    1) Yes.

    2) Yes, you can even rent games and copy them to the HD...

    3) Yes

    4) Can't see why they would be.

    5) Yes if you switch to NTSC mode
     
  8. H4r7y

    H4r7y
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    1) yes, but if the mod is on it will be banned. some mods have a invisible mode, so you can use it on live, i dont really know how well it works as ive not used it before.
    2)yes you can, size of hard drive only limits the amount of games you can get on it
    typical games are 2 to 4 gigabyte.
    3)once modded yes, itll play almost anything you can throw at it.
    4)never had a problem with mine, maybe the software loaded onto it could be, depending where you get the software from.
    5)best if someone else can asnwer this as ive not used the higher signals

    :)
     
  9. H4r7y

    H4r7y
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,154
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +45
    But yours was a better answer!

    A bit to add to 5...

    Yes you can use 720p and 1080i. However you will need the hidef pack to do this.

    Cheers
    Marc
     
  11. Rob20

    Rob20
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,661
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +388
    I've been thinking about buying an XBox, and have heard good things about the benefits of 720p, 1080i. As I have a Tosh lcd which supports these screen resolutions, and has 2 component inputs I thought it might be worth the cost of buying a modded XBox, (including the ability to play imported games).

    The only thing is, can you get the hi-def output from a UK XBox game, or is it only on imported games?
     
  12. Flyte

    Flyte
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Which chip and OS on the xbox would people recommend as I'm looking to get mine chipped this weekend
     
  13. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    they pretty much all the same, BUT make sure the chipper
    shows you it working before opening, and shows you it working when modded.
    this saves a load of aggro if the chipping goes wrong.
    (i didn't work when you gave it to me, it worked after I chipped it........etc)

    but if you have a soft modded xbox you can never play online (no chip, original xbox bios altered)
     
  14. zedzed

    zedzed
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Linlithgow (nr. Edinburgh)
    Ratings:
    +13
    So using the save game "hack" method of enabling NTSC (inc. 720p) means that you can't play online??? I thought that you could???

    ZedZEd
     
  15. runningback

    runningback
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    I live only ten miles from Redruth, so i would prefer to bring my xbox there and have it done and collect the thing again, but i can't seem to find an adress on his page, do you know if he's got a shop in Redruth?
     
  16. HMHB

    HMHB
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,608
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,962
    The premodded site seems to be unavailable :confused:
     
  17. UncagedTyphoon

    UncagedTyphoon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    City Street having it Large Essex
    Ratings:
    +3
    you could try these guys who I got my premodded ps2 from very helpful
    based near Darlington

    http://www.goldberg-mods.co.uk

    not sure on their prices you will have to contact them for that :thumbsup:
     
  18. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    working from home, but if you email him, I'm pretty sure
    you will be able to have it done while you wait. (or collect next day)
     
  19. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    just tried component on my madcow breakout box
    plasma said 525p for everything I tried (had yes on 480p, 720p, 1080p)
    (games, dash, dvds)
    so dunno where 525p came from, didn't look good (madcow appears to be cr@p)
    back to 525i
     
  20. Flyte

    Flyte
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok anyone know any modders in the Herts region I can take it to??
     
  21. runningback

    runningback
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    thx for this recommendation pjclark1, had it done yesterday :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

    no problems, fast and reliable.
     
  22. G a f f e r

    G a f f e r
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,907
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    U.K.
    Ratings:
    +491

    He can't be that good if he doesn't want you to contact him by not providing an e-mail adress. I would be interested in getting the chipped crystal one from him if he can confirm / answer these questions:
    Has it got a samsung dvd drive?
    can he stick a 120Gb HD drive in it?


    the premodded site doesn't load.....has his company gone bust? (not a good advert for it if it is)
     
  23. mitch

    mitch
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,746
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +448
    baldbouncer can be contacted via his site and he does reply to questions
     
  24. G a f f e r

    G a f f e r
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,907
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    U.K.
    Ratings:
    +491
    Nope, he can't.
    Been on there three times now but there is no e-mail reply address listed anywhere. Neither is there a menu on the site saying "contact me"
    (maybe i'm being a bit dense :blush: but I can't find ANY way of contacting him).
    If you know the e-mail could you pm me with it so I can ask him directly?
    Thanx
     
  25. mitch

    mitch
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,746
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +448
    click on submit a support ticket create an account and go from there
     
  26. brightonrvf

    brightonrvf
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Brighton/Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +429
    Anyone know of modders in the Sussex/Brighton Region?
     
  27. HMHB

    HMHB
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,608
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,962
    The premodded website seems to be working again now :)
     
  28. CLH

    CLH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    Decided to go with the site on the second post but wait till the crystals are back again.
     
  29. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,936
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +549
    Same here Fella wanting a Chrystal Modded X-Box
     
  30. CLH

    CLH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    What's the capacity of the 40GB drives. In other words how many games can I back up onto it??
     

Share This Page

Loading...