Pre-amp 'jumper' cables

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Harryo, Dec 29, 2004.

  1. Harryo

    Harryo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Merseyside
    Ratings:
    +6
    I have read that the performance of the NAD 320 amplifier can be improved by replacing the 'pre-amp metal links' with 'jumper cables'.

    The jumper cables mentioned were the Tara Labs "RSC Link" and the Audioquest "Preamp Jumpers", does anyone know of a stockist of these cables here in the UK?

    Or alternatively an American stockist who would ship to the UK.

    Cheers - Harryo
     
  2. Londondecca

    Londondecca
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +104
    What not make your own
     
  3. Harryo

    Harryo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Merseyside
    Ratings:
    +6
    I had considered doing that using Eichmann bullet plugs.

    Although it is possible that I can get a custom set made by a cable specialist cheaper than I could make them using the above mentioned plugs.

    Harryo
     
  4. Londondecca

    Londondecca
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +104
    Although in many ways I think cables can make a difference to a HiFi system, I would not spend more than a few quick on jumper cables. Can the amp accept bare cables?
     
  5. Harryo

    Harryo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Merseyside
    Ratings:
    +6
    I have not examined the amplifier, only checked the manual but it would appear that the pre-amp would require RCA type connectors.

    If I can get an improvement in sound I do not mind paying a few quid out providing that I do not go too mad and start paying out vast sums of money on cables!

    Harryo
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice