1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PQ with Sweetspot, Dscaler & Showshifter

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by pixuk, Jan 14, 2005.

1. pixuk

pixuk
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All,

I'm a novice at HCPC, but a long time computer & AV geek. I've finally got round to building a home cinema box, but I'm a bit disappointed with the results. I'm probably either doing something wrong, or expecting too much, but I can't seem to get close to the quality of just feeding the Plasma a component signal through a RGB-Component converter box. Pictures are either soft, solorized or jerky.

The set up is;

P4 2.4GHz
    1GB DRR300 RAM
    250GB UDMA HD
    GeForce FX 5200 AGP (in 4x Slot)
    Sweetspot Card using RGBS Scart cable

LG MZ-42PZ45V PDP
    Sky (Panasonic) Digibox
    Tivo
    Sony STR940 Amp

Dscaler 4.1.7p3 (& 4.1.11 also tested)
    Showshifter 3.01
    Windows XP SP2
    PowerStrip 3.5.4

Ok, so I can get a picture in both Dscaler and Showshifter from the Sky box, but the quality isn't great and there's a slight - but noticeable - stutter (almost like the effect you see when NTSC video is played on PAL). Checking the stats in Dscaler, it doesn't look like it's dropping frames (other than at start up), and from what I've read, a P4 2.4GHz should have no problem handling it. Tried various de-interlace & filter settings, from a few as possible to as many combinations as I could stack on it. Calibrated the card using the THX Optimiser pattern and tweaked the PC settings for as much video performance as possible. Images in Dscaler seem better than those in Showshifter, although I have loaded the Dscaler plug-in. Solarisation appears worse than the component input. Doesn't seem to be anywhere near as much control over Dscaler from within Showshifter as seems necessary to tweak the picture.