1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

pq from sky+ to pv500

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by pobbop, Jul 22, 2005.

  1. pobbop

    pobbop
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    morecambe, lancs
    Ratings:
    +0
    :confused: hi all,
    dont know if this is right place for this.. (mods, move if ness)
    i have a panny PV500 and es10dvdr+sky+...
    i have the dvd connected to tv via component, and i have stb connected to dvd via scart... i also have stb connected to tv via scart(av1)... dvd has progressive turned on, now my Q is:- does the sat signal go to tv via component or scart?..
    reason im asking is the pq from sky is naff!.... have tried just component and it is still naff, stb is set to rgb... and the signal test page on sky has signal 1 strength high and quality high.. and signal 2 has high strength and zero quality.
    is this me setting up wrong, or might it be sky signal is cr*p!.
    any and all advice would be much appreciated as this is getting on my t*ts now.
     
  2. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,897
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +29
    Signal 1 and Signal 2 should be about equal - looks like you have a problem with Signal 2.
    It could be the dish alignment, the LNB, a short in the down cable, or just a loose connection.
    When it is fixed - you may well still think SKY picture quality isn't satisfactory but that is another reply altogether.
     
  3. pobbop

    pobbop
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    morecambe, lancs
    Ratings:
    +0
    :smashin: thnx mate will have it looked at,.....why did you mention sky pq when fixed?... is there something i should know?. :rolleyes:
     
  4. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,897
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +29
    Depends on what you like to watch.
    Sky+ is fantastic but some channels on Sky are poorer PQ than others - a good example of Sky at its best is CSI on C5.
     
  5. pobbop

    pobbop
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    morecambe, lancs
    Ratings:
    +0
    :thumbsdow heard that and tried it. still no better.
    dont get me wrong, the pic is watchable ... its just grainy too me.
    ive tried different scart lead and no result,...also swapped sat feeds round and no effect.
    my next move is to get a quality scart?... :suicide:
     
  6. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,897
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +29
    pobbop,
    When you swapped sat feeds - did the signal strength / quality alter on signal test page ?
    The grainy PQ - are you comparing with DVD PQ - and feeling disappointed ?
    Have you tried the S-Video output from Sky+.

    I have spent hundreds of pounds on " quality scarts " over the years - the difference is minimal - if any - but they do look really pretty.

    Maybe you will have to wait until SKY HD - to be happy. :cool:
     
  7. pobbop

    pobbop
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    morecambe, lancs
    Ratings:
    +0
    i didnt notice difference on signal test page....will try s-vid.
    yes i am comparing with dvd pq, which is great....
    i will try better scart and if no joy will wait for sky hd
     
  8. hertderg

    hertderg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having the same problem m8, I`ve got a cambridge scart (£50) on trial from richer sounds and to be honest it's only a slight improvment over a ixos £20 scart. I might try a few others but I think it's something we are going to have to live with m8 :thumbsdow :thumbsdow until HD is up and running.

    HD
     
  9. pobbop

    pobbop
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    morecambe, lancs
    Ratings:
    +0
    :rolleyes: well if thats the case, at least it wont be long :D
    whats your pq like? mines not as good as an old crt tv, it kooks like theres still a film on the screen, if id known about all this crap, buying cables,switchers,hidef
    packs, which is a small fortune, i seriously would not have bothered with plasma :suicide:
    would be 2.7k better off, and thats before we start to knock into chimney breast and recess the plasma,another 1k!!!:( :( :( :(
    there should be a warning posted on this site about the pitfalls of buying a plasma tv( mods)they cost an arm and a leg in the firt place, and just when you think that everything is a ok, BAMM!!!...lets have your other arm and leg for all the other paraphinalia that has to go with it just to get a decent picture.!!!!!
    and thats before you have to start burying cables and redecorating, or building extentions even!!!!!!. :eek: :eek: :eek:

    but having said all that they still look the dogs bo**ocks!!!lol :D
     
  10. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,897
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +29
    To clarify,
    When you swapped Sky cables from Input 1 to Input 2 - did Input 2 still show High Strength and Zero Quality - or did this swap to Input 1.
    Although Sky isn't as good as a good DVD - but it could be worse than it should be - if your signal quality is poor.
    Not having seen it - I don't know just how bad your Sky picture is - if your Input shows Zero Quality - that doesn't sound too promising. :cool:
     
  11. pobbop

    pobbop
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    morecambe, lancs
    Ratings:
    +0
    will have it checked. :suicide:
    no signal did not change from input 1 to input 2...?
    :confused: am hoping that after a **** load of money has been thrown at it , that it turns out to be something and nothing...lol, isnt that always the case?
     
  12. pobbop

    pobbop
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    morecambe, lancs
    Ratings:
    +0
    :thumbsup: update. bought some quality cables ( scart ) and the sky pq is comparable with dvd pq :clap:
    also signal quality on second feed from dish is back up...? :confused:
    and it was moving up and down by the minute, so i re terminated the f connecters and that sorted that.
    so to sum up:-
    1) make sure f connecters are terminated properly,
    there are some slack sky installation engineers out there.
    2) get some decent scart cables, the ones i bought were mid to
    high end, 1x3m,1x1mflat,1x0.5coaxial for round about the
    hundred pound mark. :thumbsup:
     
  13. hertderg

    hertderg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi m8 pleased to hear that your pq is a lot better, what make of scart did you end up buying ? I'm willing to give it a go.

    HD
     
  14. pobbop

    pobbop
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    morecambe, lancs
    Ratings:
    +0
    :hiya: they were qed and ioxs dont know if thats spelt right im rushin for work,try them or simmilar you wont regret :D :D :D :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...