Powerstrip Settings

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by jameson_uk, Mar 14, 2005.

  1. jameson_uk

    jameson_uk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +579
    I have a 4:3 Sony CRT TV and have just plugged my Radeon 9200SE into it using a VGA => RGB Scart cable.

    I setup powerstrip as per http://ryoandr.free.fr/english.html for 720x576 50hz (PAL)

    I get a picture and the colour and definition is great but the screen looks like it is shaking.

    What do I need to do to sort this out ??
     
  2. Rambles

    Rambles
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    8,473
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,352
    Try different refresh rates?
     
  3. jameson_uk

    jameson_uk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +579
    I have tried changing the settings but nothing seems to make it any better (probably because I have very little idea what I am doing)

    After playing I am guessing that the front and back porchs are padding in the signal and together with the actual picture and sync make up the correct number of lines. Is the sync value actually important though or is it just to balance the porchs ??

    What sort of refresh rates should I be looking at. I presume for PAL it should be 25 as it is interlaced but what sort of range should I try ??
     
  4. Rambles

    Rambles
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    8,473
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,352
    :confused:
    Crikey, bit beyond my understanding here,
    But would guess at somewhere between 49hz and 85hz, have you checked the manual that comes with your display device to see what it supports?
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2017
  5. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    With either NTSC or PAL any refresh rate that is a multiple of the basic framerate will do, ie. for PAL the usual for a CRT would be 75 to avoid flicker, while NTSC movies would be 72 (multiple of 24fps), NTSC video shot at 30fps is problematic since 60hz is below the flicker level and 90 can be somewhat high for some displays.

    So, your attempt at 50hz is correct but possibly your CRT doesn't like it that low, try 75.
     
  6. jameson_uk

    jameson_uk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +579
    I am presuming that 75Hz would equate to 37.5 interlaced ??


    Also I am a bit worried as my TV is a few years old now (manual is (c) 1996) and I know it can take NTSC, so 60Hz should be ok but it is certainly not a 100Hz tv so is sticking a signal in @ 75Hz going to damage it ??

    The model is a Sony KV-29F1U but I have not been able to find out anything about it on the net and the manual doesn't say anything about frequency
     
  7. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Sorry, forgot about interlaced since all the time I've used an HTPC has been with digital displays being fed progressive.

    Not really sure to be honest what you need to set it for a CRT. :rolleyes:

    All I can suggest is trial and error. If you increase by, say, 5 hz at a time you'll not damage the CRT if you go slightly over the range it can support.
     
  8. jameson_uk

    jameson_uk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +579
    I know that it looses sync @ about 27Hz but I think it also gives a picture @ 30Hz for NTSC.

    I will try 37.5Hz and see what happens :eek:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice