1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Powerstrip settings for PWD7 please

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by crazyal, Jun 19, 2005.

  1. crazyal

    crazyal
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    490
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cov
    Ratings:
    +72
    I've been messing with my HTPC and Powerstrip and wondered if anyone could help out? I'm running the HTPC via VGA into the Panny PWD7 plasma and am trying to set the screen up to 50Hz and its doing me head in!

    I can setup 60Hz fine, but notice a very slight 'blur' on the picture and was wondering if 50Hz would be better suited.

    I'd really like the following resolutions.

    1280 x 720 @ 50Hz

    848 x 480 @ 50Hz

    Can anyone help me with some Powerstrip settings please?

    Cheers
     
  2. crazyal

    crazyal
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    490
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cov
    Ratings:
    +72
    no-one?
     
  3. mda

    mda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    For my PWD6 I have finally settled on the Predefined 1024x576p (HDTV PAL-derived) setting, as suggested by another member. You will probably need to use the Picture Position controls on the Panasonic remote to make it fit correctly. This should give you smooth DVD playback. I couldn't get 1280x720p 50Hz to fit.
     
  4. crazyal

    crazyal
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    490
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cov
    Ratings:
    +72
    Cheers mda, I'll go have a play with them settings and report back.
     
  5. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here are a few:

    856x480@50Hz

    PowerStrip timing parameters:
    856x480=856,64,56,88,480,1,3,12,26386,2054

    Generic timing details for 856x480:
    HFP=64 HSW=56 HBP=88 kHz=25 VFP=1 VSW=3 VBP=12 Hz=50

    Linux modeline parameters:
    "856x480" 26.386 856 920 976 1064 480 481 484 496 -hsync -vsync

    ============================================================

    856x480@60Hz

    PowerStrip timing parameters:
    856x480=856,64,56,88,480,1,3,12,31673,2054

    Generic timing details for 856x480:
    HFP=64 HSW=56 HBP=88 kHz=30 VFP=1 VSW=3 VBP=12 Hz=60

    Linux modeline parameters:
    "856x480" 31.673 856 920 976 1064 480 481 484 496 -hsync -vsync

    ============================================================

    856x480@72Hz

    PowerStrip timing parameters:
    856x480=856,64,56,88,480,1,3,12,38008,2054

    Generic timing details for 856x480:
    HFP=64 HSW=56 HBP=88 kHz=36 VFP=1 VSW=3 VBP=12 Hz=72

    Linux modeline parameters:
    "856x480" 38.008 856 920 976 1064 480 481 484 496 -hsync -vsync

    ===========================================================

    856x480@75Hz

    PowerStrip timing parameters:
    856x480=856,64,56,88,480,1,3,12,39579,2054

    Generic timing details for 856x480:
    HFP=64 HSW=56 HBP=88 kHz=37 VFP=1 VSW=3 VBP=12 Hz=75

    Linux modeline parameters:
    "856x480" 39.579 856 920 976 1064 480 481 484 496 -hsync -vsync

    ===========================================================

    :smoke:
     
  6. fraggle

    fraggle
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,486
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +54
    Kramer, any chance of some help with powerstrip please?

    I'm fedup with fiddling with the PS gui, and want to just edit the pstrip.ini file, but what goes where is a bit confusing.

    I can see its got a global section, and one section for each display device, and then default sections, and then custom sections.

    But in the example timings you've given above, where would I put them? In one or more sections?
     
  7. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Powerstrip > Display Options > Advanced timing options. Bottom right hand corner icon "paste from clipboard" (already having copied timings to notepad etc. & "copied").

    I never bothered with .ini files for Powerstrip as it only takes a few seconds to add a new resolution with the GUI. Then a few desktop shortcuts & no more need to worry.

    Now, editing DVB-S .ini files, that's fun :D . Beta testing a new SS2/MCE plug-in at the moment.......... .ini files burned in my brain :eek: .

    :smoke:
     
  8. fraggle

    fraggle
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,486
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +54
    Cheers, I added them into the custom configurations bit in the ini file and they showed up there no problem. Still confused about the default settings though... <googles>

    The 60 and 75Hz modes work well, but the 50Hz mode won't synch properly, shifted up and to the right and fuzzy. Whats the 72Hz mode for?

    Do you have any timing lines for 100 and 120Hz? (I've tried just changing the scan frequency as its the only difference between the other modes, and that does produce an image (at 100 I think) but i can't get it synching properly yet)

    For a PAL signal I find 60Hz to give FRC judder (using DScaler at the mo), and 75Hz does too. So I'm trying to get 100Hz and 50Hz working perfectly, 50 should give a judder free picture, and I'm hoping 100Hz will too, just frame rate doubled :)
     
  9. fraggle

    fraggle
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,486
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +54
    After getting 50, 60, 75 and 100 1:1 mapped perfectly, the only judder free refresh rate is 50Hz.

    Rather dissapointed, 100Hz should just be frame rate doubled, there should be no need to have anything else but doubled 1:1 frame mapping.

    I'll have a tweek with the refresh frequency, try moving it up slightly and down slightly from 100Hz and see if it'll work properly.

    Haven't tried 120Hz yet, have hardly any NTSC material anyway so not that bothered and I can't see flickering on 60Hz.
     

Share This Page

Loading...