1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Powerstrip settings and the Panasonic PT-AE200

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by greenmachine, Jan 15, 2004.

  1. greenmachine

    greenmachine
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Powerstrip settings and the Panasonic PT-AE200
    First of all thanks to everyone's posts here, they have been a great resource over the last few weeks as ive been setting up my first home cinema.

    Im stuck on the powerstrip settings for wide 720 and only by accident found the settings for the wide 480 mode.
    Ive also searched the forum and net for them to no avail.

    The settings for the AE100 dont work for me.
    Is there any way to extrapolate these settings from my current wide 480 settings which are:

    Powerstrip settings

    resolution 848x480

    Horizontal
    refresh 31
    front porch 31
    back porch 56
    Sync Width 120

    Vertical
    refresh 60
    front porch 9
    back porch 28
    Sync Width 3

    Projector settings

    H pos -21
    V pos +14
    Dot clock +20
    Clock Phase +11
    PC Priority wide


    Thanks in advance for any input you may have,

    Eoghan.
     
  2. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Nut sure if this page has the info you need , it has a few threads on various settings for Panny AE series maybe there's some useful PStrip info there.

    What resolution are you trying to set?
    What video card?
    Why are you after 720 for an AE200?
    Why does the sun always shine on TV? .. er, sorry, :D
     
  3. greenmachine

    greenmachine
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks KraGorn,

    If seen this page allready, unfortunately the panel sizes are different for each of the panasonic models.

    1280x720 should give me a wide 720 image but i cant get the projector to accept it.

    My grphics card is a RAGE 128 PRO Ultra GL AGP.

    Wide 720 would give me a bit more desktop space so I can have the 1:1 pixil match and still have enought space do do my ccf editing etc....

    As far as your problem with the sun shining on your tv I can offer only three options:
    1 Pull the curtains.
    2 Put the tele in front of the window
    3 move to polar region were darkness for most of the year...:rotfl:
     
  4. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Okay, I see your problem now. However if you're looking to use the pj to show your desktop I'm afraid you'll be disappointed. Even if you managed to set up a 1280x720 desktop, the Panny will still re-scale to its' native resolution, meaning the desktop will be very hard to read because of dropped pixels.

    When I had an AE300 the best resolution I found usable was 800x8600, even 1024x768 meant I was straining to read much of the text.

    IMHO you'd be better off going for a Radeon 9600 dual-head and using a monitor for PC work and the pj just for watching movies, the 200 really doesn't have the resolution to make it useful as a PC monitor in my experience .. a desktop at other than 1:1 is unusable for most things IMX.

    BTW, my question about the sun .. you'd have to have listened to pop music in the mid 70s' to see the reference I was making. ;)
     
  5. greenmachine

    greenmachine
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, I will concider a dual head card but im not fond of having a computer monitor in the sitting room. Maybe an lcd instaed of my sony 29" for her indoors!


    Mid 70's pop music just before my time .....
     
  6. VirusKiller

    VirusKiller
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hogsty End
    Ratings:
    +70
    Tallscreen? :D :D :D
     
  7. theritz

    theritz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +27

    I reckon you graphics card is the issue..... I had Rage graphics and it would do 848x480, but wouldn't accept the AE100 1:1 settings as a custome resolution - I'd recommend upgrading to a Radeon card - doesn't have to be anything exotic, if you're not a gamer than anything from a 7000 up (preferably fanless for noise avoidance) will do the trick very nicely. Anything else isn't really worth the trouble, imo, proper 1:1 is favourite food - best picture quality bar none.


    Sean G.
     
  8. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    :blush:

    Nope .. just lots and lots of scrolling. :laugh:
     

Share This Page

Loading...