Powering Neet HDMI Extender

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by jonnyMercUK, Jul 12, 2015.

  1. jonnyMercUK

    jonnyMercUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +35
    Quick question regarding the power supply to my neet hdmi extender. The plug is way to big and its pushing the TV off the wall. I've hard wired the TV into a fused spur, can this be done for the power to the extender box?
     
  2. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,927
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,572
    Hopefully you have a way to isolate the TV?

    The Extender 'plug' is a PSU likely Outputting 5v or 9v - you can't chop it off and hard wire the Extender to 240v!!!!

    You could replace the PSU with an 'inline' type PSU with the same voltage and wattage - that way you can hard wire it/move it away from behind the TV.

    Alternatively replace the Extender with a PoC (Power over Cable) unit which doesn't require a PSU at the Sink (Display) end.

    Joe
     
  3. jonnyMercUK

    jonnyMercUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +35
    Thanks for the reply. Yes I have a way to isolate the TV.

    The inline psu may be an option. Other than sinking in the socket
     
  4. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,927
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,572
    The PSU produces heat - I wouldn't sink it, that could be a fire hazard!

    Joe
     
  5. jonnyMercUK

    jonnyMercUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +35
    Sorry I meant sinking in the double socket that is already there.

    Basically I have a slim bracket and the plugs are forcing the TV off the wall, that's the overall problem
     
  6. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,927
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,572
    As long as you ensue adequate ventilation around the PSU you'll be fine.

    Joe
     
  7. jonnyMercUK

    jonnyMercUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +35
  8. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,927
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,572
    It may work - we found mixed results with some models of TV switching off the USB port when in Standby and taking an age to waken up when you take the TV out of Standby.

    Joe
     
  9. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    [​IMG]

    You could try replacing the socket with one with a USB outlet and the adapter , not tried them myself and the first ones released a few years ago were dodgy but i believe that they have now got better
     
  10. jonnyMercUK

    jonnyMercUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +35
    The only thing with those sockets is the usb would more than likely stick out further than the plug.

    I've actually just got it working! Neet HDMI extender is now being powered from the 5v usb socket on the back of the TV. :)

    TV is wired into a fused spur and now completely flat to the wall with a slim bracket! Wahoo!
     
  11. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    Great, even when in standby as Joe mentioned ?
     
  12. jonnyMercUK

    jonnyMercUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +35
    Seems fine yeh!
     
  13. jonnyMercUK

    jonnyMercUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +35
    I don't think it could get much tighter!

    ImageUploadedByAVForums1436862933.634894.jpg
     
  14. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    Looks good
     
  15. jonnyMercUK

    jonnyMercUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +35
    Would like a Bose cinemate 1sr and my set up will be complete!
     
  16. 28061

    28061
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    862
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +243
    Nice finish that is. How's the neet working out for you?
     
  17. jonnyMercUK

    jonnyMercUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +35
    Works brilliant! I use the magic eye to change the channel rather than the ir adapter.

    I had a problem that when for instance a plug was switched on the signal would reset however not saying it's fixed but since I wired it off the usb I've not seen it happen.
     
  18. 28061

    28061
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    862
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +243
    Do you mind posting links to the kit you bought?
     
  19. jonnyMercUK

    jonnyMercUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +35
  20. 28061

    28061
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    862
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +243
    Thanks dude.
     

Share This Page

Loading...