Powering 4 ohm speakers?

jason1wood

Just a quick question about powering HT speakers, I'm quite new to home theatre equipment and am getting some M&K Xenon for the front 3 and also have K4 tripole for the rears. I have a Yamaha DSP-763 amp. The speakers are all 4 ohm, so what would I need to get the best out of them, better amp or a power amp or something? Sorry but I don't have a clue about pre/power items.

Not sure what section to post this question.

Kilian

Novice Member
With difficulty I can only find some info on the Japanese site: it is 300W, rated for 6Ω and has pre-outs (assuming the UK version is similar). The rating alone doesn't necessarily mean it can't run 4Ω speakers but you'll very likely run into problems. You'll almost certainly need an external MCH power amp or separate mono or stereo power amps.

The pre-amp side deals with input switching and processing and you'll have to decide whether the features in this amp are adequate.

larkone

Distinguished Member
Set the speaker impedance to 6 Ohms - advanced setup menu P95 in the manual. You will be fine as long as you are not driving the speakers at insane listening levels for long periods of time.

Whether the Yamaha delivers the right sound through your speakers in your room only you can tell. The Yamaha was a £400 amp which is at the budget end of the market.

jason1wood

Thanks for the info guys. Was worried I wouldnt be able to drive them at all. Don't ever drive the speakers that loud anyway. I'm getting the M&K tomorrow so will let you know how I get on. Thanks again

jason1wood

Been running the speakers for a while now and the receiver is coping well as I said I don't drive them hard.

My problem is do I use the preouts of my receiver and get a power amp then later on get a separate processor when funds allow or just get a better receiver, eg Yamaha Rx-a1010 and forgo the separates.

My requirements are 100% movies and TV. My lounge is 6x4 so not that large.