Power Surge Protection - Is it needed?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by OnionBoy, Jan 4, 2007.

1. OnionBoy

OnionBoy
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know this sounds like a numpty question but I'm new to the whole plasma thing and have just ordered in my Pio 507XD.

The thing is, a few people have said you will need some sort of power surge protection on the supply to the 507. Is this true ? I would have thought they would have built in something to the unit which would allow you to have straight mains supply going into it.

I obviously don't want to risk damaging my new plasma, so has anyone got any info on this as I'm not to good on this electrical stuff.

cheers
    :confused:

2. bobcar

bobcar

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +21
    All my electronic equipment is protected with mains surge protection and emi suppression. It can make a difference with things like central heating switches etc and can't do any harm. Why take the chance? they're not much more expensive than a standard mains adaptor (at least when you think of the price of what you plug nto them).

3. big rd

big rd

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
    have a look at the belkin pure av its well made does the job and is cheap in compparison to other makes.i found it made the picture on my crt better and a mate who had a problem with fridges dishwashers ect tried mine and it helped no end. belkin also give cover to anything pluged in.

4. njp

njp

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +177