1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Power Supply Unit From Pricejapan unit-Just to be sure!

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Comer, Feb 11, 2003.

  1. Comer

    Comer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,371
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +83
    Got My HS10 today from pricejapan, but before I plug it in using an ordinary power cord from a CD/Tape/Radio player, do I need any kind of transformer or is the current the same in Japan as here in UK/Ireland?

    Thanks

    Conor
     
  2. robocop

    robocop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    646
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Old Detroit a.k.a. Chippenham. Wilts
    Ratings:
    +23
    Japan use 100volts and we use 230v over here.
    There's been quite a debate on here of whether to use a step down transformer or run it normally.
    The power supply unit I think is automatic and will operate 100-230v, but it's best to check.
    Kramer appears to be the on site expert on the HS10, so I'm sure he will respond to this thread in due course.
    Me, I played safe on my AE300 and bought a transformer. Already made a saving buying it from Japan, so to me another £50 was worthwhile spent.:)
     
  3. Klippie

    Klippie
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    632
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +58
    Comer,

    I just had a look in the GB HS10 Manual ( page 56 )

    It quotes power requirements AC100-240 V, 1.9-0.8 A, 50/60 Hz.

    If it has a universal power supply your Japan sourced machines
    manual should be the same.

    Klippie.
     
  4. hazard

    hazard
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cork
    Ratings:
    +3
    I've been running my Japanese HS10 on regular ESB juice for a couple of months now, no problem

    I saw a lamp dimmer switch thing in Lidl last week, I was considering buying one of those and using a voltmeter to determine what position on the dial outputs 110V and using that to power the PJ ;)
     
  5. Comer

    Comer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,371
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +83
    Thanks all:)

    I was 90% sure that I could use and ordinary power lead without a transformer but that 10% kept me from trying

    Setup last night and nothing exploded

    Conor
     
  6. sainthalo

    sainthalo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can i ask how much it cost from pricejapan in pounds including delivery and customs charges. Do customs charge pricejapan parcels?
     
  7. Comer

    Comer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,371
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +83
    €2720 or approx £1800.

    Conor
     

Share This Page

Loading...