1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Power handling. 200w with 100w amp?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by gm267, Mar 7, 2004.

1. gm267

gm267

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm just wondering about what all these "watt" specifications mean in practice. If you have a speaker labelled "200w rms", or maybe "power handling 25w-200w", but your amp is rated as "100w rms", what does this mean?

Does it mean I can use a 100w amp but won't be able to use the speaker to its full potential? Will it result in more 'feeble' sounds, or lower volumes, due to the amp's inability to provide the required power? Should the amp and speaker 'wattage' generally be matched?

Thanks. I'm still learning :)
    Gregory

2. Billilu

Billilu

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    While we're at it, what about the other way round? Should you not use a 200W amp with a pair of 150W speakers? Or is it only dangerous with volumes up at ear-splitting levels?

3. engaged

engaged
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    My understanding is that more damage occurs when an underpowered amplifier is used. The amplifier signal to the speaker starts 'clipping' as the amplifier runs out of current; the waveform distorts and is squared off and the speaker coil has to handle periods of DC current rather that an alternating waveform and is damaged.

I await correction by the boffins out there.

4. BiggieBig

BiggieBig

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +16
    My understanding is :

The power handling of the speakers is just that, a figure that states what the maximum power the speakers can handle before you do some serious damage.
    It don't mean that their louder or can produce any more volume.