Power Director 8 HD probs

gazkilla

Standard Member
Hi :hiya:

I'm having probs with PD8 and the editing. When i drag the AVCHD file from the library onto the timeline its not at the same quality as the original source. It used to be on my Vista PC but now I've upgraded to Windows 7,I can't quite remember the exact preferences to use. It seems really blocky and to an extent VHS standard :eek: Is it because I'm playing it on a PC where I've put the settings so that it'll be watched on a HD TV?

Thanks for any replies,Gary

CrashEd

Standard Member
Hi Gary,

I'm new to PD (ver 10), however one thing I noticed with AVCHD footage in v10 is that the media player plays back video clips at a lower resolution than the original file. This is to save PC resources. I think you can change this however using one of the buttons in the media viewer toolbar below the playback area.

Have you tried rendering your footage to a file and checking it outside of PD? Or even burning it to a disc and trying it in your target device (DVD player etc)? I now have re-writeable DVDs/bluray discs that I use before I do a final burn to disc.

grahamlthompson

Distinguished Member
All editors do this, how would you fit 1920 x 1080 pixels on a small section of the screen ?. If you have a high spec PC you will be lucky if the full screen is capable of 1920 x 1080.

CrashEd

Standard Member
Indeed, depends how the op has it setup. You can preview at any resolution up to full screen (if your monitor's resolution is big enough, as you say).

It's worth checking the preview settings too. From the manual:

Select (.) and then a preview resolution from the list (Full HD*, HD*, high, normal, low) to set the quality of the video used when previewing your movie in the preview window. The higher the resolution you select, the more resources that are required to preview your video project.

Preview Mode:

CyberLink PowerDirector provides two modes you can use to preview your video production: