Power Consumption?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by davee, Jul 12, 2015.

Tags:
  1. davee

    davee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    717
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    twickenham
    Ratings:
    +57
    Anybody know the power consumption of a 100x5 power amp when in standby mode and in idle mode, ie on but nothing playing?

    Thanks
     
  2. Inotrope

    Inotrope
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    689
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +44
    3W

    Quoting Udo:
    "Products of this design type use extra components to give the ability to switch off most circuitry. This means added space and cost. The DVD32, 100x5R, 250MR or 250x3R use this method of standby. Their standby consumption is around 3W Well, I learnt my lesson from the AV32R, didn’t I? "

    I cannot seem to link to the original post with the mobile app, but found it with a forum search.
     
  3. karlknurr

    karlknurr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +23
    As I remember correctly the Idle power consumption of a 100x5 is arround the 220-250W mark.
     
  4. davee

    davee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    717
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    twickenham
    Ratings:
    +57
    Thanks guys, really means I must remember to turn it off. It was ok when linked to the Tag AV32 and everything went to standby together....
     
  5. davee

    davee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    717
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    twickenham
    Ratings:
    +57
    Karlnurr, I see you have the Naka AV1 with the 100x5. Do you have the same problem or have you found a sneaky way round it?
     
  6. karlknurr

    karlknurr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +23
    What kind of problem do you mean?
     
  7. davee

    davee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    717
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    twickenham
    Ratings:
    +57
    Having to turn off the poweramp off separately rather than the tag bus turn it off with the processor
     
  8. karlknurr

    karlknurr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +23
    I do it manually by remote or on/off switch.
     
  9. davee

    davee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    717
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    twickenham
    Ratings:
    +57
    So do I but I often forget.....
     
  10. edward

    edward
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    878
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +33
    I've been turning of the whole AV system, including the Subs because I'm anxious about burning the power supplies out. hate to think what I'd do if I couldn't use this stuff and couldn't get it repaired.
     
  11. tiff_lee

    tiff_lee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Ratings:
    +33
    Dave if you're worried about forgetting why not buy a 'smart' power strip or whatever they are called (depending who makes it), have your processor/tv/oppo as the the trigger device so when turned off amp turns off shortly after.
     

Share This Page

Loading...