• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

power cable

johnny75

Standard Member
Hi all
i just bought the 42PQ3000 and the first thing the man said to do was change the power cable the cable was £45 he said it would give me a better picture and sound i am new to all this so any help would be greatful and any other advice
cheers.

Alan Mac

Prominent Member
Changing the power cable that is provided with the 42PQ3000 for a more expensive one is, I am sorry to say, a waste of £45.

Power cables have no effect on picture or sound quality.

If power cables did have an effect on picture or sound, this could be measured by test equipment or demonstrated in a double-blind subjective test but no-one has ever managed to do so.

Alan

Trollslayer

Distinguished Member
Did he say to change the house wiring as well?
A classic con I'm afraid.

Slackadder

Established Member
Not familiar with the TV model given.....

But as an owner of a Pioneer LX5090 I can say that the panel buzz has been lessened quite a bit with a change of cable to a Chord power cable.

If the salesman was so sure he should offer it on a home trial basis and if you aren't happy be able to take it back.

Power cable flaming seems to be flavour of the month at the moment!!! ;) Power cables aren't a magic solution (panacea), and to some people they won't give very noticeable results - but for some peoples' kit and homes they do work wonders.

Anthony

Alan Mac

Prominent Member
But as an owner of a Pioneer LX5090 I can say that the panel buzz has been lessened quite a bit with a change of cable to a Chord power cable.

Anthony