1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pound keeps rising against $

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by Pollywoggle, Dec 2, 2004.

  1. Pollywoggle

    Pollywoggle
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,442
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    South Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +81
    Said gleefully to wife last night "Its 1.94 now"
    Says she, "What is wrong with you, we are not going to America!?"
    Tee hee!
     
  2. recruit

    recruit
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    2$ to the pound soon it could not be a better time to get an SVS imported or upgrade :D

    John
     
  3. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    All American companies will be exporting to the UK in dollars and whilst this is of huge financial benefit to end users like us who are buying direct, American products bought via traditional retails outlets have not seen price reductions so someone in the UK chain is making some very healthy extra margins.

    I paid about £750 for my PC Plus in June 2003 but if the dollar ever does slip to 2:1 as has been suggested, that same sub would cost £580 which is a staggering 22% reduction on what I paid.
     
  4. Kazman

    Kazman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Luton, Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +136
    :devil: 2nd PC Ultra, MUHAHAHAHAHAHA!!! Can you say YEAH BABY!!!! YEE HAH!! My thanks to George Bush for allowing the dollar to become so weak.

    Do you think that soon enough, we could buy America with one months salary?

    Might start a Kitty, the "Buy America Fund" pounds only please :).
     
  5. samhain

    samhain
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,704
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    South West Scotland
    Ratings:
    +122
    That is an incredible saving. Buying direct certainly does have it's advantages and SVS are cheep as chips just now.
     
  6. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    I hope that chips doesn't spot you calling him cheap :D
     
  7. juniper

    juniper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,782
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +56
    I reckon that @$2/£ another :eek: PB2+ (or 12/plus b2 or whatever new fangled name they call them these days :blush: ) might just have to be winging it's way to me. I reckon that works out at near as damn it £900. Bargain :thumbsup:

    Oh, Merry Christmas to me, Merry Christmas to me........ :D Or maybe I should buy it for my wife :devil:
     
  8. Bassbin

    Bassbin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2,395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +56
    So at $2:£ their small sub would be getting close to £300 which is staggering. I was considering one of these or a BK but if the price differential is all but gone I guess there's no contest.
     
  9. samhain

    samhain
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,704
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    South West Scotland
    Ratings:
    +122
    :blush:
     
  10. smallangryboy

    smallangryboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,848
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +56
    Anyone know of a reputable US Velodyne dealer will to ship to Blighty ?!! Appologies for posting in the SVS forum :D
     
  11. Kazman

    Kazman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Luton, Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +136
    You might find one to ship to you, but you won't find one willing to change the amp over to a UK spec one :( :( :(
     
  12. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Don't forget that it will also make other equipment much cheaper as well. I think I'd be more interested in EQ equipment and some really beefy power amps :devil:
     
  13. samhain

    samhain
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,704
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    South West Scotland
    Ratings:
    +122
    Ebay most likely, but UK power amp would be biggest problem.

    No question UK distributor of US products and services making an absolute killing just now.
     
  14. galewis1

    galewis1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +4
    Couldn't you use a standard 240v > 110v converter plug or something? Or am I missing something obvious?

    Gary
     
  15. smallangryboy

    smallangryboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,848
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +56
    Just out of interest would an SVS sub be a good partner for satellite speakers ?

    I'm looking for something thats good for music then movies in that order, but because I will have satellite speakers, the sub has to fill quite a big gap, possibly right up to about 150 - 160hz as most satellites realistically start to drop off at 100 - 120hz.

    If they are suitable, what [of the smaller range] would people suggest I consider ?

    cheers
     
  16. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    You obviously haven't read the review by Secrets of Home Theater of the PB-10 here which shows a ruler flat response from 20 Hz to well over 120Hz.

    All SVS perform very well with music but the PB-10 doesn't have high level connections so can't be connected to a stereo amp. As long as you are happy to connect by low level (like the vast majority of us do) you won't find anything else that will come anywhere near the sound quality for the price.
     
  17. smallangryboy

    smallangryboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,848
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +56
    OK, suitably chastened, I will now read the review, thanks for the link :D

    I've an Arcam AV100 amp [not overly renowned for bass management] and my REL is currently connect through both high and low level, I was told this was best as I wanted to use the Sub for both stereo and 5.1

    Does this mean that connecting through a low level input will deny the use of the sub with 2 channel sources through this amp ? Time to dig out the rather vague manual...
     
  18. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    It works with two channel on mine (speakers set to small) but that's a Denon which may behave differently.
     
  19. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Ian, subs can be connected by stereo amps at low level via the preouts if it has them.
     
  20. avanzato

    avanzato
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +60
    The PB-10 has only one input and no crossover, it's a very specific design (for the sub-out on an amp or external crossover) which is why it can do what it does for the price. If you want extra features then the models just up the range are the one's to go for.
     
  21. samhain

    samhain
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,704
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    South West Scotland
    Ratings:
    +122
    In theory yes, but it's not that easy.
     
  22. galewis1

    galewis1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +4

    Would you care to elaborate? I for one, would consider importing if the 'not that easy' bit was 'not that difficult' ;)

    Gary
     
  23. scouse

    scouse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Balham
    Ratings:
    +3
    eviljohn: how would that be connected up via the pre outs?

    would the output from sub go back into the main in of the integrated amp?

    cheers
     
  24. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    If you import directly from SVS they will fit innards that will run on UK power supplies as opposed to the 110 volts used in USA.

    Whilst in theory it sounds easy to buy any other American sub from an American dealer and use it over here with a transformer, in practice it isn't that easy.

    I have imported a DVD player from USA and used it with a transformer without any problems at all but subwoofers are a different kettle of fish and require far higher juice levels. The likelihood of inducing hum into the audio chain is far higher and all in all it doesn't seem to be worth the risk.

    As you are in the SVS forum, just get one of them which will be purpose built for the UK market but at American prices and you will have the best of all worlds.
     
  25. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Pick either the left or right preout (you could even use a Y-type cable to combine the 2) and connect this to the low level input on the sub. As the amp won't have the bass management present in AV amps, all of the tweaking will have to be done using the subs controls. I'd suggest setting the crossover to ~60Hz and then adjusting the gain to suit, obviously there's plenty of room for experimenting here until you're happy with the integration between the sub and main speakers. :)
     
  26. scouse

    scouse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Balham
    Ratings:
    +3
    do i connect the main speakers to the high level outputs of the sub or are they connected to the outputs on the integrated amp?

    apologies if a daft question :D

    :smashin:
     
  27. avanzato

    avanzato
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +60
    Scouse: What sub are you using?
     
  28. scouse

    scouse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Balham
    Ratings:
    +3
    avanzato: i have a MS 309 sub fella. I have 5.1 but i don't use it enough to keep so much dosh in it. So i've been looking at 2.1 options.

    My 309 has high and low level connections but the high level are only "in" but not "out". It has low level "in" and "out" if that makes sense.

    cheers
     
  29. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Scouse, if you're using the low-level input to the sub then you'll have to connect your main speakers to the integrated amp and not the sub.
     

Share This Page

Loading...