Potentially a stupid question - mixing signals and a very simple amp

paulcurtis

Standard Member
Hi,

I'm prepared for this to be a laughable stupid question

But

I have a sony 7.1 av amp, Linn speakers and a variety of optical sources.

What i want is a very simple, quality 2.1 amp and all those sources to be mixed into a single input so that no one has to change *anything*. If two sources are being played then it will sound awful as they'd be mixed together. But in reality, we're either listening to a sonos music, watching appleTV, bluray or Sky. Never all 4.

I just want a volume control.

I don't see why is should be any more complicated then that, i watch my family struggle trying to work out which sources go where, my parents struggle when they're round.

I'm a designer, i like simplicity, i feel that consumer electronics have gone way OTT. We moved from sky to freesat for a while, found the UI so awful that we went back to Sky because no one could use it.

i know, i know, it's at odds with what most of us (as boys) like to do...

But is this actually possible?

cheers
paul

dwhite

Distinguished Member
Get a programmable remote (like a Harmony) and program it so it does all the switching for you, so you press a button to watch sky for example, and it switches the TV on, switches amp on, switches to the correct inputs etc, all from one button press.

Going your way, is not gonna be practical, if its even possible.

Does your amp have the ability to rename inputs I found that also helps, so instead of switching to video1 you switch to xbox.

paulcurtis

Standard Member
Get a programmable remote (like a Harmony) and program it so it does all the switching for you, so you press a button to watch sky for example, and it switches the TV on, switches amp on, switches to the correct inputs etc, all from one button press.

Going your way, is not gonna be practical, if its even possible.