1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Possible with a CRT....?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Parmenion, Feb 6, 2005.

  1. Parmenion

    Parmenion
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,171
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Out there
    Ratings:
    +28
    I know you can play X Box and PS 2 games on a CRT (in moderation !) but can you use a light gun for shooting games or is the technology incompatible?

    Anyone successfully shooting at their screen?

    regards

    Parmenion
     
  2. bartp

    bartp
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    No you can't
     
  3. flibble

    flibble
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well, we managed to get Vampire Nights on the PS2 to work with a Barco 800 Data, though I can't remember whether it was before or after I added a scaler to my setup?

    I'll have another go and see if it still works :)
     
  4. bartp

    bartp
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    it won't work with scalers
     
  5. soerenp

    soerenp
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree.

    I would think that chances of success are best with a 480i or 576i setup. You need good clear scan lines on the screen. And no aspect streching either.
     
  6. crispybig

    crispybig
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +6
    I had no problems using a light gun on a NEC PG, using the console's standard video out.
     
  7. Parmenion

    Parmenion
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,171
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Out there
    Ratings:
    +28
    Out of curiosity, which console?

    And I take it you mean the yellow composite lead?

    regards

    Parmenion
     
  8. gpender

    gpender
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    272
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Please someone come up with the conclusive answer please please please! I've wanted to know this for a while and have had different answers each time :mad:
     
  9. klr10

    klr10
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sawbridgeworth
    Ratings:
    +27
    The way the software works is that it is looking to see a 'one' signal from the 'gun' and compares it with the memory map that is being sent to the screen. As the pixels are being addressed it compares the flash from the guns camera against time. It's a lottery as to whether the electonics can cope with your setup. Hope this helps to clarify the situation...K (Struggling to explain this in laymans K)
     
  10. Matinee

    Matinee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    225
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    bolton
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, provided it's not scaled, the output is at 50 or 60Hz, and the light gun accepts it.

    PK
     
  11. crispybig

    crispybig
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +6
    I honestly don't remember the console - it was about three years ago and a friend's console just tried the once to see if it worked (it did). NOT X-box or Gamecube, maybe PS/2? And yes, it was using plain vanilla composite.

    ------------------------------------------------
    BTW, the IBM 360/65 was the last REAL computer! And full documentation down to component level, none of those nasty integrated circuits. A mainframe you could keep running today with just the odd visit to Maplin or RS. I know - I got me one! OK, I admit, Gene Amdahl was a key designer of the 360 architecture, but by the time he got around to making his own boxes the mainframes had lost their souls.
     
  12. klr10

    klr10
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sawbridgeworth
    Ratings:
    +27
    Oh, someone who knows what a 5995M is (was)... I didn't think the 470V8 had no soul, and we did have documentation down to gate level even though most of it was on chips (air cooled as you probably know). I had the pleasure of meeting Dr. Gene a number of times in Sunnyvale (he was known for driving around in his beloved Rolls Royce) and once when he came over to open a new HQ in the UK (nowadays a very charming white haired old gentleman). Sadly now we've been "incorporated" into Fujitsu (the old ICL in UK) so I have to say it has all completely lost its soul... and now I work on unix servers (and the odd antique).. They were very good times :rolleyes: BTW the 5995M 12670 was the biggest 370 architecture mainframe ever made (and it was water-cooled being ECL technology) - about 20ft square, 8ft high and 114 doors.... we deinstalled the last one in UK from British Gas in Mitcham about 5 years ago..... :suicide:
     

Share This Page

Loading...