1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

possible to make multi region?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by chris110, Feb 3, 2004.

  1. chris110

    chris110
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Gloucester, SW England
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a tv/dvd combo which only plays region 2 dvds. I have a multi region dvd player upstairs but i wanted to be able to play my region 1 dvd's downstairs. Does anyone know how to make it multi region?

    The model is
    PHILLIPS 28PW6826/05

    Ive had a look everywhere I can and couldnt find any info on it so any help would be great :(
     
  2. dsw182

    dsw182
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Messages:
    755
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +9
    This is on the wrong board, you may have more luck in the 'DVD players' board.

    You could try this however , it may work:

    1. In TV mode, on the remote control press [0],[6],[2],[5],[9],[6] and then press the [MENU] button.
    2. Select the "DVD" option on the menu, using the arrow keys, and then press the [ENTER] button.
    3. Highlight the "Region" option, and then use the left and right arrow keys to change the region from 2 (UK), to "ALL".
    4. Exit by pressing the [MENU] key until you are back to TV.
     
  3. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    dsw do you know if there is a code for a samsung 28#2 WS DVD combi (a mates,)??? searched everywheere and emailed almost all the MR merchants to no avail.
     
  4. chris110

    chris110
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Gloucester, SW England
    Ratings:
    +0
    AHH it didnt work! Now i have SDM in the corner of the screen permenantly and whilst i cant remove that i can still watch tv normally but cannot do anything with the dvd drive, cant open cant even get on the dvd channel :confused: help!!

    EDIT: ok that scared me for a while, i unplugged the tv, plugged it back in and it still said it, i tried just about everything but nothing. Then put it in standby, took it back outta standby and its back to how it was before - Weird.

    BTW the code never worked ;)
     
  5. dsw182

    dsw182
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Messages:
    755
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +9
    That was the only hack I could find for a Philips combo. Sorry.

    Have a look here, it may be listed:

    http://www.regionfreedvd.net/player/samsung.html
     

Share This Page

Loading...