Possible problem with Black Gold TV card?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by GaryMo, Mar 22, 2006.

  1. GaryMo

    GaryMo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Manchester
    Ratings:
    +280
    I received a Black Gold Digital TV card from GTA today to work in conjunction with MCE 2005 Roll-Up 2.

    I have followed all installation instructions and downloaded a guide and all channels for my local TV transmitter etc and configured Media Centre for my LCD monitor but when attempting to watch TV all I get is sound and no picture at all.
    My aerial point is fine as I pick up all Freeview channels with my inbuilt Freeview TV.

    Are there any extra steps that I need to take?
     
  2. GaryMo

    GaryMo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Manchester
    Ratings:
    +280
    Just an update......

    I can view TV through my Xbox 360 using Media Extender, Im just having a problem viewing TV directly on my PC. Sound is there but no picture.
    I've also tried recording a program, again I can view it on my 360 using Media Extender but it won't show on my PC, only sound.

    Gas anybody else had this or a similar problem?
    Im assuming the card is working fine as its displaying on my 360, software also seems fine as listings are there and it records OK.

    The problem must be at my PC end, graphics card?
    Which program does Media Player use to play TV or recorded TV?
    Is it inbuilt into Media Centre or a seperate software player?

    Thanks for any help at all.

    [EDIT]

    This is the screen I see on my PC when attempting to watch Live TV, sound is there but no picture, just a 'stopped' message.

    http://www.gmort.co.uk/archive/temp/MCE.jpg
     
  3. Nick_W

    Nick_W
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +28
  4. GaryMo

    GaryMo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Manchester
    Ratings:
    +280
    Thanks for replying Nick, I came across that player last night whilst looking on 'The Green Button' forums but it didnt make the slightest bit of difference.
     
  5. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Run DECCheck and tell us what codecs it sees, and which one is the preferred
     
  6. GaryMo

    GaryMo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Manchester
    Ratings:
    +280
    I installed the NVIDIA Pure Video Decoder last night which made no difference but this morning I decided to check the date of my display driver before going to work, noticed it was dated 2003 so downloaded the lasted one for my Geforce4 Ti 4200 AGP8X.
    I've just installed it and TV now works a treat.

    Many thanks for your help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...