possible noob networking question - Help needed!!!

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by Jay on F1, May 2, 2007.

  1. Jay on F1

    Jay on F1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tamworth
    Ratings:
    +428
    Firstly, sorry if this post is in the wrong section, but I wasn't sure where else to put it.

    At the minute I'm having an extension done on my house and as a result I've got a new room that I'm going to use as a lounge. I've got the electricians in first fixing and I thought whilst I've got no plaster on the walls it would be a good idea to do a little bit of networking to this room.

    My idea is to have my 360 and a media extender in the lounge, both connected via ethernet (cat 5) cable to my router which is upstairs in my study.

    My question is this - Can I have a face plate in my lounge (with two ethernet sockets) that will allow me to plug 2 devices into them? As Im not sure you can have an ethernet cable running from a device, into a socket and then that cable running about 15m into a router. Would I have to have two cables that started in my lounge and finished at my router upstairs?

    I hope this makes sense and isnt a complete noob question LOL :suicide:

    Cheers,

    Jamie
     
  2. Andy98765

    Andy98765
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,474
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,367
  3. nugat

    nugat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +15
    You should be okay with the length. According to cat5e cable specifications,
    100m is the maximum length without loss of performance. With patch
    cables no longer than 10m. Although I've used 20m patch cables before
    without any problems.

    http://www.home-network-help.com/connection-length.html

    Although if you already have power running into your extension, you could
    just use a couple of these.

    http://www.homeplugs.co.uk/

    Although I can't vouch that the transmission rate will be good enough
    for use with a media extender. I would have thought the 200Mbps ones
    would be fine though.
     
  4. ukkev2000

    ukkev2000
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,027
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +51
    well, if you're gonna put them in the wall, you should use cat6, as network kit will bound to use 1gb before long, 100mbs is just so slow ;)
     
  5. ShadowmanUK

    ShadowmanUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +132
    Cat6 is quite picky and how you bend it and how you run it, so if you use it, be careful. But I can't see any app for now wanting more than 100Mb, The Xbox can't do 1Gb either.

    I think Cat5e would be fine.
     

Share This Page

Loading...