1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Possible Marantz S3 fault

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Paul D, Mar 24, 2004.

  1. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    I have came across a possible fault with my S3 projector.

    When in high contrast mode(fine in normal mode), i can see faint horizontal lines running across the image.
    I first thought it was a DVI issue, but it is on all video signals.
    I have done the normal battery of tests...
    Different DVD player
    Different plug socket
    Progressive/interlaced
    DVI/Component
    Different discs.
    High/Low lamp mode.

    It is more noticeable in the bottom righthand corner, with the Iris in high contrast mode(F5.0).
    It is not there in F3.0 mode.(high brightness)

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    Doctored picture to show lines if your display cannot resolve the faint lines.
    [​IMG]

    Any ideas?:confused:
     
  3. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,431
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,092
    I saw something similar on my old Davis DLS8 - it only did it when inverted for ceiling mode though. It was caused by a faulty formatter board which I assume tells the DMD how to display the picture. It was fine when projecting from a table though.

    I don't think it's quite the same thing, though it looks almost identical. You could try flipping the image to see if it does it in both modes or not, but it looks like you'll need a repair.

    Gary.
     
  4. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Paul

    Sorry to hear about this. I've not noticed anything like this on mine but will give it a good once over tomorrow evening. Only problem I've had with mine so far is on 2 occasions when switched on the image has been inverted even though it is on the correct setting (Ceiling - on) in the menu. If it does it once more then mine will be going back too.
     
  5. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    Going to give the calibration lens a try!
    If that doeasn't work, then it will have to go in.
    I'm awaiting a response from Dan Miller over at AVS.
    It's baffling me why it goes in F3.0 mode.

    It is slight and i'm wondering if the Marantz techs will even be able to see it!
    If it does go back, i will attach some photos of it to assist them to what to look for.

    Funny thing is that i'm not upset about it. Since i'm still so happy with the unit overall, i'm happy for it to go back for a few days if it will sort it.

    Messiah, bring up a 100 IRE screen in avia(etc) then stop the Iris down to F5.0.
    I will apologise up front if you do find anything!:D

    Ps
    HDMI(DVI) is now firmly my preference from my 868i. Going back to component adds slight "ringing" and a very slight "soft sheen" to the image in comparison.
     
  6. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    OK Paul, I'll take a look later. If I do find it then mine too will be going back. More weight to getting them fixed :) but here's hoping mine's fine.

    I dabbled with the Yamakawa but due to cable length/syncing issues have decided to sell that on. The picture was utterly superb but unfortuantely I cannot see me going for an 868. Would love to but then I think of the new WM9 machines coming out in the next few months. If the 868 had WM9 playback (a bit more futureproofing ;) ) then I'd go for it. I'm still delighted with the pic from the Tosh SD900 and I also have a fully configured HTPC for DVI duties.
     
  7. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    I want the new Kiss WMF9 player too!
    It will have DVI and can stream from networks.
    This will be ideal for making a DVD/music jukebox etc.
     
  8. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    That's the one I want. Not for quite a few months yet though :(

    Gonna check my S3 in the next hour or so. Any news from Marantz/Dan Miller?
     
  9. Edgeyboy

    Edgeyboy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2000
    Messages:
    3,297
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +166
    Any update on the problem ?

    I am interested as we are thinking of buying an S3

    Many thanks

    Tom
     
  10. tbrar

    tbrar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I checked mine this morning to see if it exibited the issue described with the 100IRE feild from Avia and seemed fine.
     
  11. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    tbar, good news.
    Just need Messiah to confirm his is ok, and i will get onto Marantz to arrange a service.
    Even if it is normal, i could live with it, but a fix would be better!
     
  12. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Sorry guys. Been pretty busy so not got round to checking. Will do this evening and post results ASAP.

    {now, do I really want to know....:eek: }
     
  13. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Well, having installed the new screen (3rd replacement :eek:) and spent some time settig the pj back up I can say I can see no such lines on my pj.
     
  14. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    Yep, Dan Miller states it must be a fault.
    First time i've ever been glad somethings faulty!:D

    Now all i need to do is make sure the Marantz service techs know how to see it!
    I have heard Marantz tend to just swap out, but i would prefer a fix.

    Will report back on how things go...:smoke:
     
  15. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,484
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +82
    Off topic but why the 3rd screen?
     
  16. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Ist one started sticking.
    2nd was not true 16:9 and had bowing edges
    3rd - same as second
    4th - certainly is true 16:9 but unsure if the material is going to shrink like the previous ones and cause bowing. Time will tell.
     
  17. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    fulabeer

    Don't blame you wanting a fix. I know someone else who has an S3 and due to a duff on mirror on his first one he had 4 replacements till he got a good one. Two were very dim and one had a pink tinge to everything that could not be removed. The fourth is picture perfect but a fair bit noisier than any of the others. Needless to say he has decided to put up with the noise due to the perfect image.

    Good luck.
     
  18. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    My problem is so small as not to be a real issue.
    Since the other 3/4 of the screen don't show these lines, then it leads me to think it is a lens or panel alignment problem.
    It is really subtle, but there non the less etc.
    Since it goes when i switch to F3.0, this seems to reinforce my alignment theory.
    I will speak to Marantz tomorrow, and post back the response.
    I am hoping it is just a panel driver adjustment in software!:)
     
  19. Edgeyboy

    Edgeyboy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2000
    Messages:
    3,297
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +166
    Hi Paul

    Any updates ?

    Regards

    Tom.
     
  20. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,431
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,092
    bump out of curiosity. :)
     
  21. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    I only got around to returning my S3 on Monday.
    I just didn't want to let my baby go!

    I will post back when i hear something...:smoke:
     
  22. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,431
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,092
  23. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    Just an update on my S3 problem.

    According to the Marantz "tech", my unit needs the firmware updating.
    I hope that's all it is, as i have a peach of a unit.(quiet and bright- with zero duff pixels etc)

    I should be getting it back sometime next week.

    I will post back if the lines are gone(or not)!:smashin:
     
  24. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    Ok the latest update 04/05/04.

    Marantz UK at first said my firmware did need updating. I assumed this wasn't for extra features, rather just to tweak bugs/settings.
    Maybe Dan Miller will comment over at AVS, if a general firmware release is due.

    I phoned today to see if my S3 had returned, and been serviced/updated etc.
    To my surprise, there was a "loan" S3 waiting for me.

    It turns out my S3 is taking a little trip to Japan!

    I have no idea why, but assume that the Japanese Techs want to see this problem themselves.
    My unit still needs the firmware updating, so maybe this hasn't gone so well.

    With great relief, this loaner unit doesn't have the faint horizontal lines.
    Meaning that my unit is faulty, and these lines are not a "characteristic".
    I have noticed with this unit that DVD via HDMI-DVI seems to have much more saturation. I have now backed my Pioneer868i(AV59i) saturation back to default. I assume my unit will be the same once the firmware is updated.

    I am a little nervous that my unit has to survive such a long trip, never mind the fact that any tinkering may introduce dust/other faults etc.

    It is nice of MarantzUK to offer a "loaner" S3, but that has taken three weeks to show. I would have thought that a "new" replacement S3 might have been offered with the amount of time has been, and seems like it will be away.

    I suppose there maybe an upside to this Japanese factory visit. The unit will be checked out by the Marantz factory eggheads, and might just come back better than stock units!(fully examined and firmware/hardware updated)

    Here's hoping...!
     
  25. Jackass

    Jackass
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,097
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +612
    Or it could come back like a big box of egg shell!

    Sorry couldn't resist :devil:

    I hope all turns out okay and Marantz come through with there customer service.

    I've seen the S3 in action on a firehawk screen and its the dogs bollucks!

    I suffered rainbows with a Sharp 10k but the S3 was okay with the material it was showing.

    Steve.
     
  26. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    I would prefer my unit back rather than a replacement. The loaner seems noisier than my unit. I also noticed some sort of minor flickering during DVD playback.

    So it's either my unit back fully repaired, and in first class condition or a brand new unit.

    With the DVI input showing more saturation and zero lines, the picture on the loaner actually makes me rate the S3 images higher than before!

    As long as no other artifacts/faults are introduced, and the lines/DVI saturation problems are gone. Then the S3 really will be my ideal PJ.

    Just hope my S3 doesn't end up like the "Fed-Ex" parcels from Castaway!:laugh:
     
  27. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    Or a guy like ace venturer delivers it, (opening scene of film...a classic)
     
  28. dealmaker

    dealmaker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Messages:
    740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    nearly in Scotland!
    Ratings:
    +1
    Paul,

    Personally if I had spent North of £7k on the S3 (and I'm about to buy one - although not for £7k:D ) I'd be pretty set on getting a brand new replacement unit - they've admitted that your PJ is faulty so why shouldnt you expect a new one to replace it?
     
  29. Jackass

    Jackass
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,097
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +612
    Stop bragging and tell us how much and where? :D
     
  30. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    Normally, i would be banging the drum for a replacement.
    But my unit is very quiet, and has zero pixel faults and i have had it 7 months.
    A new bulb was installed last month(free of charge), as i did see some slight flickering during PC use.(went after 100 hours, but hey, they offered a new bulb!)
    I'm racking up some "freebie" hours on their loan unit.
    So i will be happy for a repair to be made.

    I paid £7100 in November, and got one of the first S3's to ship.
    I also got some serious discount on the first Pioneer 868i and AX5i. (I paid much less than they are selling for now!)
    I've had 7 months solid use in that time, and was very happy with the deal i got.
    I am curious what the best price on a S3 is now.(Don't make me cry!)

    Does anybody know what the warranty period is? (as Marantz website isn't clear). It seems to state it is two years on "premium" display products.(Three years on all other "premium" products)

    One word of warning is to buy from Marantz authorised dealers only. Otherwise Marantz won't want to know if it breaks.

    I've got a feeling i will never see my old unit again.
    I would have no problem accepting a new unit with a brand new bulb. At this rate, i will never have to buy a bulb again!
     

Share This Page

Loading...