1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Possible faulty Sagem Axium HD45

Discussion in 'TVs' started by dog-man, Sep 9, 2005.

  1. dog-man

    dog-man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have had my HD45 since September 1'st now. I was very happy at first.

    For the past few days I have noticed on terrestrial channels an annoying sudden darkening then returning to normal of the picture.
    It's as if someone was turning then down the contrast them almost immediately turning it back up.

    At the moment, I don't believe that it happens on anything via scart.

    At first it was only me that was noticing it, but now all my family are complaining.


    Have any other HD45 owners come across this?

    I am assuming the set is faulty?


    I purchased it from Avwow. what's their customer service like?





    Steve..
     
  2. kmhtkmhtkmht

    kmhtkmhtkmht
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No one EVER answers the phone, and you gotta leave a message to get them to call you back...
     
  3. dog-man

    dog-man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh Dear!

    Well, I have just emailed them to let them know of my problem. Should they not sort this out quickly, then I shall invoke the sale of goods act and get my credit card company involved, but have to give them a chance to respond favourably.

    I can't fault them so far. Delivery was speedy.



    Steve...
     
  4. blackwavesid

    blackwavesid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope, never had the problem you mentioned. Having said that though I better qualify and add that I've only ever used scart, DVI and component connections.
     
  5. sprattgraham

    sprattgraham
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    928
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hertfordshire UK
    Ratings:
    +28
    Funny you should start talking about this problem I’ve had it since I got my HD-D45 in June and it happens on all of the sources. I’ve put up with it but begin of the week I contact Sagem and Comet.

    Sagem sent out a new lamp but it was the wrong one it was for HD-D50. Comet sent and engineer out on Thursday and he decided to have it collected and taken to there work shop for repair. There going to collect it on Monday lets hope they don’t break it.

    If I was you give the Sagem helpline a call 01784 898158 can’t remember what option it is or you could email andrew.gorman@sagem.com he is the technical support manager for Sagem UK.

    Try the help line first Andrew is always busy doing other things so it way take some time for him to reply.
     
  6. dog-man

    dog-man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, as it is so new (1 week old), I don't believe that it is my problem to run around trying to get it rectified. I paid a lot of money for this.

    It is unfit for the purpose for which it was sold, so it is the dealer's problem.
    I shall await their response.

    I think I will phone sagem though, as it may well give me some ammo to use against the dealer.



    Steve..
     
  7. bobon

    bobon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    my sagem 45d was delivered a week today and all was fine,however the last three days when i switch on there is no sound, if i switch off and leave it a minute and then switch on again it works fine. Has anyone else had this happen?
     
  8. dog-man

    dog-man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Had mine only a week and not experienced that.

    I will say however, that in my opinion the sound quality for a tv of this price is poor.

    The picture quality (until my problem started) was excellent.

    By the way, the dealer has been in touch with me already, and we shall be sorting the tv out.



    Steve..
     
  9. dog-man

    dog-man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    Have you double checked the speaker cable connections?

    Perhaps they are only slightly making contact with the metal strips inside the connectors.
     
  10. Snap

    Snap
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Celle (Hannover)
    Ratings:
    +1
    dogman, i have seen same problem just a couple times.
    the brightness is changing sometimes by itself.
    also when (some) channels showing the blue tabs with names and info or scrolling text the picture is fastly darkening and when the bars are off it slowly comes back to original brightness level.
    looks like its autobrightness feature. How to switch it off?
    I have latest software version.
    Working on my PC now through DVI-D - no problems for hours.
    But another strange thing - the screen is flickering for few seconds simetimes - the effect is like the screen refresh rate is going down from 60 to, say, 50 and then again up. Suspect the AC noise - but i dont have any AC filters at home.
    today havn't seenthis for a few hours - noticeable only while working on PC and with white background.
     
  11. dog-man

    dog-man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been monitoring the picture today for most of the day trying to find a definite pattern.

    Ironically, the problem has not been so acute today, so have been unable to notice a pattern yet. Still seems to only affect terrestrial channels.

    I have though noticed a shimmering / shaking of the bottom left and right sides when displaying the epg in sky+.


    dog-man
     
  12. Snap

    Snap
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Celle (Hannover)
    Ratings:
    +1
    dog-man, thanks for update.
    i have no problems with EPG from my Humax cable receiver connected via RGB or S-VHS cable. it's rock-solid.
     
  13. Touchable

    Touchable
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    I noticed the same problem with terrestrial tv. Although I noticed it I'm not bothered by it at all.
     
  14. dog-man

    dog-man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My problem is evolving as the days go by.

    Now we can see a shimmering or flashing of the bottom half of the screen with input from the scart connections.

    The problem is intermittent, but is mostly there. Seems to be worse when the screen, or bottom area of screen is supposed to be bright.

    It is worst at the left and right sides.

    I have also noticed that some channels with a lot of red in the picture cause the screen to become darker than it should be.

    Something is definitely wrong with this television.


    dog-man
     
  15. dog-man

    dog-man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmmm, the list of faults is growing...

    We can now see that when in teletext mode on a terrestrial channel, the text page is quivering / lightening / darkening.

    It seems that this televison cannot maintain a stable image for very long.

    dog-man
     
  16. Riva

    Riva
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the HD-D45 for approx 4 months and did not experience any of the faults mentioned in this thread, and I too purchased from AVWOW. I found the service of the guys at AVWOW to be excellent and at no time did I feel frustrated by the lack of effort bieng made by them on my behalf. Just my experience - but would certainly deal with AVWOW again in the future.
     
  17. dog-man

    dog-man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have no problems with them either.

    They made contact with me promptly when I first complained about the fault, and suggessted a course of action, so no complaints from me.


    dog-man
     
  18. Ruby

    Ruby
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Messages:
    942
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +70
  19. dog-man

    dog-man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seems things are getting worse.

    Today I noticed for the first time that there is sometimes a ghost silhouette around images on screen. My family have been claiming this from day one, but I have only been able to see it today.

    All these faults are intermittent. They are more apparent when in eco mode.

    I am not so sure that I want to keep it now.

    It is 2 weeks old today, I first reported faults after a week to the dealer.

    Where do I stand regarding a refund rather than a replacement or repair, as I don't know if I now want to risk another Sagem.

    Pity, as I was really impressed initially.



    dog-man
     
  20. dog-man

    dog-man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, last Wednesday Andrew from Sagem phoned me in response to an email.

    Told me that an engineer will contact me very soon to arrange some experimental repairs, as they don't know what is causing the problems.

    So far no call from an engineer, which is not filling me full of confidence, so looks like I shall be returning it for a refund.

    Family meeting later, and we will decide if it goes back.

    I am just fed up with it. I find it very annoying.


    dog-man
     
  21. sprattgraham

    sprattgraham
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    928
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hertfordshire UK
    Ratings:
    +28
    I've got a simlar problem and Andrew is coming to have a look at it later this week he did say he had someone else with the simlar problem.

    Try calling TSG (0870 4176010) they do the the repairs and they are sometimes very slow and need a kick.

    if all else fails try calling Andrew think he's in France at the moment or is he back can't remember.
     
  22. dog-man

    dog-man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    He did give me his phone number, but the way I see it, why should I have to chase people to get an expensive brand new television fixed?

    It would be far easier to wash my hands of it and get a refund.



    dog-man
     
  23. dog-man

    dog-man
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just to rub salt into the wound, I had a phone call from Sagem service centre this morning.

    Great, I thought they want to arrange a date.

    Nope, they just wanted to give me a reference number and could not even estimate how long I might have to wait for a visit from an engineer.

    So, I have now decided it's going back for a refund. I can't be bothered with all this when it is brand new.

    Don't know what I will get yet to replace it, but I won't be rushing. I will take my time and do loads of research before I get any replacement.


    dog-man
     

Share This Page

Loading...