Poroblems with surround

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Deadstar, Jan 17, 2008.

  1. Deadstar

    Deadstar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    I finally bought my center and suround speakers :clap:

    Only one problem, the surroud speakers doesn't work :thumbsdow

    They work, because when I use the speaker test function on my Denon AVC1-A1D amp al the surround speakers work and make noise when they have to make noise.

    But if I watch a DVD (Pink Floyd Pulse), I put my amp on dolby surround and set the DVD on 5.1 in teh audio menu. I select the speaker test and the fornt speakers and the center work great. But when the test comes to the surround speakers, it produces the sound in the front speakers, and not the surround.

    I connected the DVD player, with a RCA cable (stereo) to the DVD input of the amp. Do I need to make an other connection? I have a JVC DVD player ans it has got all the DTS/Dolby logo's on it.

    :lease: help me.
     
  2. bsuttie

    bsuttie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +206
    In order to get 5.1 you need a digital connection, either optical or coaxial. You can't get 5.1 over a stereo analogue connection.

    regards

    Brian
     
  3. Deadstar

    Deadstar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    :oops: sounds pretty logic thanx
     
  4. qwerty1234

    qwerty1234
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    608
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    HERTFORDSHIRE
    Ratings:
    +53
    this is your problem.your only putting a stereo source in to the amp. you need to be connecting the DVD with either an optical connection or a digital phono. this will feed the 5.1 sound channels in to the amp.
    with a steroe source put your amp in to prologic and you'd get a surround experience but this you'd only really use for tv.
     
  5. Deadstar

    Deadstar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also tought that the sound of the center peaker sucked. It sounded like it sucked my whole stereo front speakers empty. Can this also be because of the RCA cable. Or should that one work fine? And does it just suck?

    (It is a Focal Cobalt CC800)
     
  6. qwerty1234

    qwerty1234
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    608
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    HERTFORDSHIRE
    Ratings:
    +53
    i'd get rid of the rca then reevaluate.
     
  7. Deadstar

    Deadstar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a yellow output on my DVD. For digital. It looks the same as the RCA outputs. Is that Optical or Coaxial? :S

    Sorry lost the manual.
     
  8. MarkTaylor

    MarkTaylor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    4,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +662
    That is a composite video output, nothing to do with sound.

    Tell us the model number of your DVD and we can be of more help

    If they have coloured the digital output yellow and it looks like RCA then it is co-ax not optical
     
  9. Rom

    Rom
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,064
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +746
    If it is yellow, it is probably composite video. That won't work. It is more likely you have optical on your player - it seems to be more common than coaxial. Look for a small square plug on the back, about 5mm square. That should be optical. You would obviously need an optical cable too.
     
  10. Deadstar

    Deadstar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok sorry it sometimes helps to look at tha back of a machine.

    It had got a small round input (redish) that says: PCM/ digital out. And... coaxial :oops:

    THNX for the help

    Edit: No more brownish ( I wonder if there is a name for that color at all :S)
     
  11. qwerty1234

    qwerty1234
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    608
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    HERTFORDSHIRE
    Ratings:
    +53
    should be orange but it sounds right you would then need the same input on your amp.
     

Share This Page

Loading...