Poor TV Signal Quality with Panasonic DMRE85

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by chiastic, Sep 23, 2004.

  1. chiastic

    chiastic
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    After taking advice on this forum, I plumped for the Panasonic DMRE85 Recorder, but when I have connected it up to my TV (TV to DVD via scart and RF Connector, and then DVD to Aerial point via RF Connector) the picture is considerably worse than using my old Panasonic VCR.
    I don't use the Aerial for any other tv/device so I'm not splitting the signal, so I assume I don't need siganl booster - Any ideas?
     
  2. apreading

    apreading
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    Do you have decent quality aerial leads?

    When we got our freeview box we kept losing the signal and thought we needed an aerial upgrade - till the engineer turned up and said it was the c****y aerial lead that came free with the box. made us up a new cable and signal was perfect - very strong.

    I was surprised it made THAT much difference - may be worth looking at. I can recommend PRofigold cables btw.
     
  3. chiastic

    chiastic
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks - I was just about to say that I used the cables that I was already using when I was using the VCR, but I just remembered that I used the cable that came with the DVD (assuming that Panasonic would supply a good cable). I will revert back to the original cables and see it its better.

    Thanks
     
  4. apreading

    apreading
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    No guarantees, but worth a try. Well worth considering a qulaity cable long term, even if that does fix you up for now.
     
  5. chiastic

    chiastic
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you think a signal booster would help, or arre these just for when you split the signal to multiple TV's?
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    a signal booster is likely to cause more issues get a length of CT100 or CT125 from B&Q or simialr and some decent plugs. make up a lead and see if it helps. could consider QED TTV cable that the mags rave about!
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice