Poor picture through dvd recorder from sky..help please

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by start!, Feb 27, 2005.

  1. start!

    start!
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've not posted for a while and for some strange reason i've had to re-reg again because it didn't recognise my username etc,anyway back to my problem.....

    I got a goodmans 301r dvd recorder today and connected it to my tv and sky decoder as follows (i've also tried loads of other variations):
    DVD RECORDER 'scart in' socket connected to SKY DECODER 'vcr scart' socket
    DVD RECORDER 'scart out' socket connected to TV 'av1' socket
    SKY DECODER 'tv scart' socket connected to TV 'av2' socket.

    When i press the 'source' on the dvd remote and select 'scart' so i can record directly from Sky via scart connection the picture appears to be kind of distorted and the colours aren't right, its as if its not tuned in correctly.Sky looks perfect if i just watch it through the tv.

    i've tried using scart leads but it hasn't made any difference.
    please help me sort out my new toy

    thankyou for any help.
     
  2. Kwozzii

    Kwozzii
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants
    Ratings:
    +16
    Don't know if the scart input on the back of the dvd recorder is RGB capable or not.....
    At the moment the way you've got it connected - DVD RECORDER 'scart in' socket connected to SKY DECODER 'vcr scart' socket - you're only recording in composite which could explain the poor picture.
    If the dvdr scart in takes an RGB signal the you want Sky tv out > dvdr scart in and you would then use the dvd as a pass through, and put the Sky vcr out > TV AV2...

    Kwozzii
     
  3. start!

    start!
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I really don't know anything about these things so i've no idea whether its RGB capable or not.

    I tried connecting it like you said but don't seem to get any sky through the dvd recorder now.
     
  4. Kwozzii

    Kwozzii
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants
    Ratings:
    +16
    In that case I would change it back to how you had it before - it doesn't seem like you dvdr can accept an RGB signal at the scart input.....

    Kwozzii
     
  5. start!

    start!
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    thanks for your help Kwozzii , here's my update.

    In the dvdr on screen settings it does let me select RGB so i don't know if that means it will accept it or not.
    Anyway instead of connecting sky via the scart,i've conneted a video recorder instead.
    The picture from this comes through perfect so it obviously doesn't like sky.I think i'm going to have to take it back to the shop.
     
  6. Wackojacko32

    Wackojacko32
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pinxton, Derbys
    Ratings:
    +1
    Start!

    It will let the video through as this is Composite feed also. If you are able to set the Scart in to RGB then it should accept RGB sources. Your problem may be that someone has pressed the TV button on the Sky remote as this sets the output back to composite. Try pressing Sky button with the TV scart from Sky connected to the Scart in on the DVDR (what make by the way) and both Scarts set to RGB.

    Wackojacko32
     
  7. start!

    start!
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'll go and give it a try, dvdr is a Goodmans 301r
     
  8. mray

    mray
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,752
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +227
    I don't know if this applies to you, but some DVD Rec's show the picture as it will be recorded, when they are switched on. By this I mean if your recorder is set to record in long play, the picture you see on screen will look a bit blurry. If you set the Rec to XP, the picture you see via the source button will appear sharp. Does this make sense?
    I hope it helps. :)
     
  9. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    20,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,954
    No!
    I'm not aware of any DVDR's which do this, I doubt it very much.
    Can you tell me on what Make/Model you've seen this "Feature"?
     
  10. start!

    start!
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Wackojacko32, i've tried what you said but still no luck.
    On the dvdr it lets me choose video out and then select RGB but i can't see any way to change scart in to RGB.
    I've attached a picture from the instruction book showing how they say to connect it.I can't understand why they would show you to connect with scarts if the dvdr isn't compatible with them.

    mray: the picture is awful mate regardless of what quality setting its on,its difficult to make out people faces because its so bad.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,282
    Philips DVD recorders have this option - the picture is encoded and displayed when the unit is on as opposed to being passed through (unless you select pass-through). It's one of several reasons why high-end users avoid Philips DVD recorders!
     
  12. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    20,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,954
    That must cause new users no end of problems........wondering why the picture is so poor and forgetting or even not aware they have this "Feature" turned on.
    Thanks for the info.
     
  13. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,282
    ...it's also great fun when watching Sky when you start typing in a number on the handset to change channels - there is a delay as the picture is encoded by the machine.
     
  14. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    20,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,954
    "Philips, Simply Light Years Ahead", ahem I don't think so!! :smashin:
     
  15. Wackojacko32

    Wackojacko32
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pinxton, Derbys
    Ratings:
    +1
    Start!

    I don't have any specific knowledge of this model but if there is no option to select RGB input then it probably doesn't have the capability. Try the specifications part of the Manual, it might tell you there.

    Wackojacko32
     
  16. mray

    mray
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,752
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +227
    Philips.
    Mico.
    Lite-On.
    Tevion.
    All +R machines.
     
  17. start!

    start!
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for all your help but i've decided to take it back tomorrow and get a refund.I can't believe how the instructions tell you to connect a scart to the dvdr and then when i do the picture is crap.If its not got RGB input capability i don't know what the point is of showing you how to connect with scarts.There's no specs listed in the manual,anyway i'm sorry for moaning but i'm a little p****d off with it.
     
  18. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    20,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,954
    Better off putting the money towards a Panasonic or Toshiba.
     
  19. Wackojacko32

    Wackojacko32
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pinxton, Derbys
    Ratings:
    +1
    I agree with Jaycee, I have a Panasonic E65 and the PQ is excellent. Can pick these up for less than £200 now so why bother with anything else.

    Wackojacko32
     
  20. start!

    start!
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    i want one that will play + and - though so as i can play dvds from friends who have + format.

    thanks
     
  21. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,282
    Most DVD recorders, whether + or - recorders, will play the other format - although obviously they can't record to it. The Panasonic models are no different in this respect, i.e. they will play +R and +RW in most cases.
     
  22. start!

    start!
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I liked the look of the Panasonic DMR-E55EBS but i couldn't see were it said that it plays +R or +W. Can anyone confirm whether it does
     

Share This Page

Loading...