1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Poor picture from RGB signal on Pace NTL Box

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by mwhorley, Oct 1, 2002.

1. mwhorley

mwhorley

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been using NTL cable for several months now and still have not got to the bottom of an annoying problem.

If I set the signal output to be RGB on the Pace box and connect it to AV1 on my Philips Pw28006 the picture is far from sharp although still watchable. If I connect to AV2 the picture improves but is still not RGB quality. AV2 doesn't support RGB though and I need that scart socket for my SVHS video (AV1 doesn't support SVHS)

Changing the output to composite gives me the same quality of picture on both scarts but obviously not up to working RGB quality.

Has anyone come across anything similar, obviously the planks at NTL wont have a clue what's going on here and i'll have all on to get the engineer out to look at it.

Is there a solution to this or is this a known problem with PACE NTL boxes ?

The cables are full pinned Gold Scarts.

Any help or views greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
    Mike.

2. chris l.

chris l.

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    I run NTL Digital RGB into my Tosh 36ZP18 via AV1 and can instantly see a change in detail of the setup menu background when you flick from RGB to composite and back etc.

I presume that your TV is auto sensing and that you don't have to advise the TV of the RGB signal in etc.

I guess you may have a faulty set top box.

I do however recall that when Nynex was taken over by NTL and then the digital service came out be got our cable "upgraded to a bigger one" due to the distance we are from the local splitter / terminal.

Any chance of one of the neighbours lending you their box for 1/2 an hour to compare the picture etc.

Regards

Chris L.

3. jmack

jmack