Poor PC Image Quality - Onkyo TX-SR604 and Mitsubishi HD1000U and PC

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Budarow, Jan 3, 2007.

Tags:
  1. Budarow

Budarow

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I recently replaced my receiver with an Onkyo TX-SR604 which has HDMI switching and after connecting the new receiver to my projector and PC, I'm getting really poor image quality.

I've connected the PC to the receiver's HDMI Input #1 (using a 10' 24 AWG DVI to HDMI cable from Monoprice) and connected the PJ to the receiver's HDMI Output #1 (using a 35' HDMI to HDMI cable of 24 AWG from MonoPrice).

I'm getting a display which is pretty poor in quality with a resolution set at 1280x720 (the native resolution of the PJ). The Windows desktop has text which is slightly broken up, legible, but not clear by any stretch. It kind of seems as though a non-native resolution is being displayed.

I'm REALLY new to PJs and HDMI, but I believe the receiver has poorly implemented HDMI swithching; the combined use of a 10' foot DVI to HDMI cable (PC to receiver) plus a 35' DVI to HDMI cable (receiver to PJ) is degrading the signal; and/or, I've got something connected incorrectly.

As a side note...I had the PC and PJ hooked directly up via the aforementioned 35' DVI to HDMI cable and the IQ was very good with a resolution of 1280x720.

Also, movies from a DVD player through the receiver (via composite video) to a standard 32 tv look very good and movies from the same DVD player through the receiver (via a 35' component video cable) to the PJ seem to look good.

The PC has an ATI X800XT AIW video card with the desktop set to a resolution of 1280x720 with 32 bit color. In WinXP Pro under Settings, Advanced, Monitor Tab, the receiver is identified correctly as a SR604 which apparently has a maximum resolution of 1940x1080 (or something similarly high)? I didn't know that receivers have resolution settings?