1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Poor analogue signal, except when HDD/DVD is on

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Raify, Jul 13, 2005.

1. Raify

Raify
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hello all,

Noob here, so please be kind :hiya: . I have spent a few hours searching, but no joy...

My problem is that my tv signal (analogue only :rolleyes: ) is very poor, except when it's going through my HDD/DVD recorder.

Signal goes: Arial on roof of block of flats > socket > signal booster > Liteon 5045 HDD/DVD recorder > TV.

I only recently got the recorder, but had the same situation with the signal going through a VCR...

I would just leave the recorder on all the time, but when you set the timer record, you have to shut it down...

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance!
    Nathan :smashin:

2. JayCee

JayCee

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,878
    Your real problem has nothing to do with your DVDR or VCR (they just boost the signal by a few db's)..........what you have to do is just basically improve the signal by preferably getting a high gain aerial and/or a masthead amplifier fitted by a reputable aerial rigger.

3. Raify

Raify
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    I was ready to assume that the arial was sh1te, but the picture is crystal clear when going through the HDD/DVD (and even through the old VCR).

Turn the DVD off and the picture goes full grain, low colour etc.

What am I doing wrong? It must be something simple...

thanks for the reply btw

4. JayCee

JayCee

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,878
    If you are getting a very good pic when viewing the signal via the DVDR and/or VCR connected via scart but poor when viewing via your TV's aerial input it suggests a fault in the tuner or input circuitry.