Police Scanners

Status
Not open for further replies.

Yessy

Novice Member
Reaction score
I've seen some police scanners on ebay for $30 from China do you think they're useful? I have no knowledge of radio frequencies so I don't even know if police and others communicate that way anymore? For instance one $30 from China says "radio scanner transceiver providing 4 wattsin the frequency range of 136-174 MHz and 400-480 MHz. It is a compact, economical HT that includes a special VHF receive band from 65 - 108 MHz which includes the regular FM broadcast band."

Is that good?

There's no easy answer as to what scanner will best suit you. If you're new to scanning, you don't want to spend a lot of time figuring out how to program the scanner. When choosing between the different types of scanners it really comes down to how you expect the radio to be used. If you'll want to take it around town, to the mall or sporting event or air show, then buy a portable. If it will almost exclusively be used on your desk or night table at home, then the base/desktop is the right choice. For mobile use if the radio will be fixed in the car then i recommend a base/mobile scanner.

I see the contributors so far have come from Madagascar and Australia. Scanning police transmissions in the UK is frowned upon and possibly illegal.

The 4 watts refers to the transmit facility. This would be illegal to use except for licensed radio amateurs in the 2 metre (`144-146 MHz) and 70 cms (430-440 MHz) bands.
You can use the unlicensed 446 MHz band but only with the correct modulation types and at a maximum power of just 0.5 watts.
Most of the more interesting police radio frequencies should be scrambled these days - so you wouldn't hear anything anyway.

Taken from Wikipedia

United Kingdom