1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pocket PC good for remote use?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by russraff, Oct 25, 2004.

  1. russraff

    russraff
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Messages:
    2,311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +50
    I was thinking about getting a Dell Axim X3 or Compaq or similar and using it as a remote by getting some third party software. Is this a good way of doing things, or is this approach more trouble than it's worth? It seems like the colour Prontos are tragically overpriced in comparison. If it is worth doing, are the models I am thinking of using good ones, or are there different models I should be looking at?

    Russell
     
  2. Mr. Wilby

    Mr. Wilby
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Worth doing a search. There's one very long thread on this forum started by Messiah about using pocket pc as a remote.
     
  3. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,924
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +88
    I use an iPAQ 2210 running PDAWIN (which uses Pronto CCFs) as a universal remote and it works just fine. It's pretty directional and hasn't got a huge range but, as all my gear is directly in front of where I sit and abput 9ft away, it's never been a problem.

    HTH

    John
     
  4. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,457
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,762
    I use Nevo on my Ipaq 2200 and it works fine - it comes as part of the package with the 2200. One thing you have to check is that it has a good enough IR, I think it has to be "consumer grade" or something like that. Not every PDA can do this.
     
  5. russraff

    russraff
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Messages:
    2,311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +50
    I was thinking of the 2210, actually. So, this doesn't have a consumer IR? I have just looked on the net and there doesn't seem to be a list anywhere, even on Remote Central, that tells you which PDA's have Comsumer IR and which don't. I have actually checked Dell and the X3 standard doesn't seem to be available and the X30 range doesn't list consumer IR as a fearture. So... I am a bit lost, here. Anyone shed some light as to which PDA's would work well, other than the 2210 (I may need a longer range).

    Russell
     
  6. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,457
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,762
    If you're talking about the Ipaq 2210, that is the American version of the 2200 and they do have the consumer grade IR.
     
  7. russraff

    russraff
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Messages:
    2,311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +50
    Are you sure? I looked on Kelkoo (as a first stab at prices) and they say PC World have this model in stock over here (link here
    If this has Consumer IR, I'm getting one. Simple as that!

    Russell
     
  8. shoehorn

    shoehorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Garden of England
    Ratings:
    +32
    You could always try one of these, I don't have one myself, but if you have a PDA without consumser IR, or short range, it could be just the thing.
    If I can get it past the Mrs I'll get one for my 4150....
     
  9. russraff

    russraff
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Messages:
    2,311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +50
    Hmm, so, all is not lost if the range is too weak. Looks good. I was going to get PDAwin as the software, but will have to change my mind methinks.

    Russell
     

Share This Page

Loading...