1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Plz help, why is my 434hd pic so bad.

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by leedsfireman, Apr 10, 2004.

  1. leedsfireman

    leedsfireman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi, i got a pio 434hd last week & I'm v dissapointed.
    My set up is;
    Sky via Qed sqart RGB into input 1 rgb enabled.
    HK dvd30 via Qed component progressive enabled.

    I owned a panny w4 before i got the pio & up to now the panny gave a much better picture.

    Sky is OK on some channels & not so on others, which is expected, but not as good as the panny. Although there is no shimmering on large bright background scenes as on the panny.

    DVD v dissapointing. I watched 'Finding Nemo' tonight as a bench mark as so many people state what a good pic it gives.
    For starters on the menu screen the different white sections seemed to be jumping on the screen.
    The actuall film was as good as composite on my other plasma.
    I've tried tweaking the settings but if i increase sharpness to get some detail the screen goes all grainy.
    No edge defination, colours soft, Jagged edges, colur bleeding, no so called 3d effect, infact some Sky channels are better than the DVD.
    Am i missing some thing in the set up or with this panel being a 'HD res' does it need a hi def signal to come into its own.

    Any other 434hd owers who can give me advice plz help so i can get the best out of my new plasma.

    Andy.

    P.S I forgot to add why is the picture so 'jerkky' when it pans across a scene, i'm thinking that my panny w4 was a better screen.
    I decided to get the pio on recent highly praised reviews, the pannel being HD & it having the HDMI input for later dvd uprade.
    Have i made a wrong choice?
     
  2. ancientgeek

    ancientgeek
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Something is wrong. Some ideas:

    cables problems? (eg not properly plugged in)
    you are seeing what's wrong with the Sky signal when you didn't before
    you are still using composite when you think you aren't
    jumping menus - interlaced and not progressive as you thought?
    jerky pans - something to do with source frame rate vs panel refresh rate; there's something about it
    here, and I've read about it elsewhere too (AVSforum?).
     
  3. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,779
    Of course the Series 4 Panasonic was possibly the best unit they made. Certainly better than the 5 and 6 imho. It is/was a FANTASTIC plasma.

    There are a minefield of settings in the newHDE's all of which could add to soft image quality and possibly jerkiness. I'm not that familier with the HK DVD, does it have the ability to do frame rate conversion, if so make sure it's off.

    Did the folk you bought the Pioneer from not install it and set it up for you?

    Did you view an HDE prior to purchase or was it completely review lead?

    Gordon
     
  4. Eagerbeaver

    Eagerbeaver
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think it is the settings minefield that has caught you out so far although the interconnects must also be of a reasonable quality.

    Whe I got my 504 I was lucky in that I hit on perfect settings within 10 mins of turning it on. Then when I played with it, everything I did made things worse.

    I can't give you my settings currently as the screen is packed away whilst decorating but I'm sure if you do a search you'll come up with some.
     
  5. Eagerbeaver

    Eagerbeaver
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any more joy playing with the settings?
     
  6. Claus

    Claus
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    After running the DVE calibration disc, I got these settings on the Pio.
    I had a Panny 5 series and the Pio beats it hands down.

    Av selection: USER
    Contrast: 26
    Brightness: +5
    Colour: -8
    Tint: 0
    Sharpness: +1

    I recommend these settings in the Pro Adjust settings:

    Pure Cinema: ADV
    Colortemp: Mid
    MPEG NR: Off
    DNR: Off
    CTI: Off
    DRE: Off

    These settings are with the 434 and the 868 running 720p, via HDMI

    Hope this helps!

    Claus
     
  7. leedsfireman

    leedsfireman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +3
    Sorry for the delay in replying i've been away.
    The jerrkiness i think i sorted out due to my mistake, the dvd player & pio were set on PAL when it was actually a NTSC disc i was playing.:clown:

    I agree that i think it needs setting up right to get better results but i was just comparing it to my old panny.

    Is the picture quality on the pio greatly improved when sent a 720p signal on HDMI?

    Could it be that my old panny, having 480 lines, was producing a better picture due to it downscaling the picture from PAL dvd's & a normal 625i from sky?

    Any help welcome.

    Andy.
     
  8. chillo

    chillo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sky on mine was a little rough at first but it has settle down to a very respectable picture approaching high quality CRT standard.
    DVD has been amazing from the word go with nemo 3D like! but i've only been using hdmi with my 868. Overall the colour is a little to strong but that is easily toned down a touch
    i have used Claus's settings too!
     
  9. Beefer

    Beefer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Ratings:
    +1
    Give it time as chillo said, it will get better. Mine was all jerky and stuff at first but then it just dissappeared after a while. I'd double check everything, leads and menu settings.

    I'm very happy with my 434, PQ changes from one day to the next, some days I think mmm that sky chennels pants and other days I think thats bloody good, there are so many factors involved with Picture and Sound quality these days, even time of day!

    As a comparison I had a Sony 36FS70 CRT before my Pio and it blows that out of the water no question, especially DVD. Also, I had a Pio 565 DVD player and there was a deffinate PQ hike when I swapped it for the 868, even with just component.

    Get HDMI you won't regret it.
     
  10. drago.d

    drago.d
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kings Langley, Herts
    Ratings:
    +6
    For normal viewing (Sky etc...) turn Pure Cinema to OFF (along with all the other picture processing options, except perhaps for DRE, which I have left on MID after loads of fiddling). This will minimalise the jerkiness you are seeing (esp. on footy, slow pans, scrolling banner headlines on news channels, etc..)

    You will also see a marked improvement in the overall pq by the time you have put 200+ hrs on the screen. (You can check the hrs in the service menu.)
    I found after 200+ hrs there was much less "noise" in the image. It was as if the individual pixels had been over sensitive when the panel was new, and they needed to de-sensitise somewhat in order to stop "firing" even when it was one of the adjacent pixels that was being activated - hence the impression of "noise" in the image (a fizzing effect).

    For the first three or four weeks of ownership I was convinced I had made a mistake in choosing the 434 (check some of my previous posts, esp. "radical settings"), and my a/v savvy mates also confirmed my worst fears upon viewing my screen. Yet by the time the Pioneer man came (276 hrs) the screen had bedded-in nicely, to the extent I felt rather embarrassed that I had arranged for the service call in the first place.

    You will probably find you'll need to re-calibrate your settings as the screen does bed-in, I know my settings were an ongoing labour of love/frustration for the first month or so, more than a few 2:30-3:00 am tweaking sessions! :zonked:

    Hope this helps,

    drago.d
     
  11. Diapason

    Diapason
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    276
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +7
    I'll echo everything drago.d said. On two 434 screens now, I've seen the "noise" in the image decrease drastically over the first 200 hours or thereabouts -- the quality of the image really does get much better over that period.

    I know all about those 3:00 am sessions as well!!

    Si
     
  12. drago.d

    drago.d
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kings Langley, Herts
    Ratings:
    +6
    The Mark Grant power cable for the Sky+ box might be helping things a bit, too ;)

    Anyone tried one on the plasma panel or media box, yet?

    drago.d
     
  13. drago.d

    drago.d
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kings Langley, Herts
    Ratings:
    +6
    BTW,

    I'm still using power save set to "On". I thought it might help during bedding-in period, re: minimising the possibility of screen-burn on the new panel.

    Has anyone found it improves the image with it set to "Off"? (I would expect to have to re-calibrate brightness & contrast, so have been too lazy to fiddle around further :zonked: )

    drago.d
     
  14. Costas

    Costas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon, UK
    Ratings:
    +121
    Drago.d I did all my settings and calibrations on my 434 with the power save "off". Then for general viewing I set it to "on" and never change the settings. You can olny spot it the difference on very bright scenes. I tend to put is back to off to watch a film, DVD or a program of "cinematic value"...
     
  15. dave0523

    dave0523
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +1
    Interesting thread, many thanks for the settings info.

    Bit of a fiddle to setup and get working right, these screens :rtfm:
     
  16. superjim

    superjim
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ARe you sure your media box is not faulty. I had one of the first ones and it was not working properly. The engineer replaced it and no prbs since.
     

Share This Page

Loading...