1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Plz HELP re HDTV

Discussion in 'TVs' started by tolmie, Aug 29, 2005.

  1. tolmie

    tolmie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +56
    I have A panasonic PD50, superb TV, it has a component Connection, im getting at xbox 360 which you can get a HD component lead, does that give me a true HD connection, i thought HDMI was the only connection for HD but people are telling me the hd component connection will do the business, if so does it give me 1080i or less, im a bit confused with all this.

    Cheers in advance.
     
  2. locky79

    locky79
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    well to get HD you can either go via component, DVI-D and HDMI but dont worry if your gonna go for the £279.99 xbox 360 pack then you will get the cables you need :) whether they are any good is another question :rotfl:
     
  3. tolmie

    tolmie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +56
    so is component cables HD ready, i didnt realize that, i thot you had to have a HDMI connection for HDTV,very confusing. Your comments plz.
     
  4. Br41ns

    Br41ns
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    424
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +31
    :hiya:

    For a TV to be HD ready it must have an hdmi or dvi input which is hdcp compliant, however you can send an analogue HD signal up a component lead at 720p or 1080i and assuming your tv is HD then no probs, even sky are rumoured to have component on their 1st gen HD boxes.
     
  5. tolmie

    tolmie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +56
    I only have component connections on my TV, so is that good enough

    Cheers
     
  6. av addict

    av addict
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +161
    if its hd ready and accept 720p or 1080i
     
  7. Rimmer

    Rimmer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't know specifically about the PD50, but there are hardly any CRT TVs in the UK that will accept an HD signal.
     
  8. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    it def wont show the image in HD and I don't think it accepts 720p/1080i. I think only JVC tv's accept this (and the samsung slim fit HD if thats for sale yet).

    therefore there is likely to be little advantage for you anyway, but still get the component cables so you can have 576p (does PD50 even accept progressive?)
     
  9. tolmie

    tolmie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +56
    Well from what im getting told from the xbox site is this, you get a hd component cable and that connect from hd connection on xbox straight into component on TV, this cable comes free with xbox and works on any tv with component,
     
  10. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    yes but your tv is not an HDTV. it will work but you will have to select a non-HD resolution on the 360, eg 480p or 576p (or 480i/576i).
     
  11. tolmie

    tolmie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +56
    So whats the point in bringing that cable out then, if you go onto gameplay they are selling it aswell and say it will work for HDTV, 1080i and so on. I didnt think it would work myself but there saying it does.
     
  12. tolmie

    tolmie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +56
  13. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    your not listening.

    your tv has 576 lines.

    hdtvs have 720 lines or above, and therefore accept 720p and 1080i

    your tv doesnt support progressive scan

    therefore you are limited to 480i and 576i

    you may see an improvement in quality over standard RGB scart with the lead, but it will not be HDTV.

    If you had an HDTV (eg panasonic pv500 plasma, pioneer 435xde plasma), you would get hdtv with thaa lead.
     
  14. tolmie

    tolmie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +56
    I understand how the technology works, so what is th point in this lead, why does it say it will show 1080I etc when component cant or cant it but only on a HDTV which i thot required hdmi connection or dvi.
     
  15. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979



    The point is the the Xbox360 will pump games out at HD resolutions via a component connection. This same cable will also be suitable for people with displays that have component but will only display PAL/NTSC progressive or bog standard PAL.

    HDMI and it's HDCP protection is only going to be needed for playing back HD movies which at this point the Xbox360 will not do unlike the PS3.
     
  16. Eiji

    Eiji
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,382
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +43
    Only one consumer grade HDTV CRT unfortunately in the UK, the Samsung WS32Z308P.

    tolmie, your TV supports only 480i (Interlaced) and 480p (Progressive) so with component cables and a Xbox 360, you won't be getting a HD picture on your TV, only ED (enhanced definition).
     

Share This Page

Loading...