PLV Z2/AE500 and DVI

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by nunew33, Oct 14, 2003.

  1. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,736
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Having just invested in cabling I think Ive made a mistake

    Because the cinema room is being decorated I bought the cabling b4 I chose the projector (waiting to see reviews of Z2 and AE500).

    I bought Svid, 4 RCA (for component and composite) and 15 pin VGA RGB male to female.

    Having just seen the Z2 sockets on av-sales website and seeing a video of the Z2 in action on http://franckhc.free.fr/comparoDownload.htm I can see that there is no 15 pin D input (even tho av-sales says there is).

    I was going to use the vga cable for RGB scart input. With both the AE500 and Z2 being DVI have I just wasted money on the vga cable or can I convert.

    Any help appreciated. Plasterer due thursday. Cabling needs to be channelled in by then. HELP
     
  2. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,736
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    I could have deleted this post to hide my stupidity, but then someone might benefit from it.

    I have since found out that DVI-I is an analogue as well as digital (DVI-D being digital only). And therefore cann accept an analogue signal.

    The VGA cable can still be used. All I need is a VGADVI converter at the projector end.

    Had the projector been DVI-D I would have had to digitize the signal through a convertor.

    Phew, cable laying can go ahead as planned
     
  3. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    AFAIK, you can't use a DVI-VGA "adapter" in that way (they're designed for analogue DVI to analogue VGA, not vice versa).

    Yes, the DVI port will accept analogue too, but only over a DVI-I cable.

    I'd suggest getting a DVI-I cable (from Lindy) as quickly as possible & "install" that also. Better to check it works OK before burying it though.



    :smoke:
     
  4. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,736
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Kramer now Im confused

    http://www.lindy.com/uk/productfolder/04/41223/index.php
    or this
    http://www.keene.co.uk/cgi-bin/bigcodesearch.pl?45073

    Isnt this what I want? Couldnt see DVI I cable.

    This is starting to look messy

    I wanted the VGA for RGB Scart signals from Sky

    So it was going to be scart to vga, then vga 10m cable, which I assumed would go direct to projector.

    After seeing projector was DVI I assumed that something like the above lindy cable or equivelent) would work (lots of assumptions - also lots of connections - I can see a vastly reduced feeble signal being the outcome).

    Ive tested the cables in as far as Ive connected a laptop to my PC monitor using the 10m cable. With no projector I cant test the DVI side of things.



    With 2 evenings and one day to go Im getting worried
     
  5. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks like I was wrong in my assumption :blush: - analogue VGA to analogue DVI is an option :eek:

    I still reckon the best option is to also route a DVI-I cable while you're at it (so to speak). Component too :eek:.

    That way you'll have every eventuality covered (HDMI aside :D ), composite, s-video, component, VGA & DVI.

    If you're chasing walls etc. it's the best option IMO.

    :)
     
  6. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,736
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Whew Im ok then. Component already covered.

    Not enough time to get DVI! Will settle for what ive got.

    Will just have to settle for component, composite, Svideo and analogue DVI/VGA

    Roll on AE500/Z2 release!!!
     
  7. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,736
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Looks like luck was on my side http://www.lindy.com/uk/tips/uk/Digital_Monitor_Connections_Explained_/index.php

    The length of cabling I used was 10m, which exceeds DVI tolerance.

    So in this case VGA was a better choice than DVI.

    As a matter of interest:
    The cables are npow channelled in so that they emerge from under the skirting at the front, go up the wall in two channels then into the attic space. Do I need to protect the cablling in the attic space using conduit?
     
  8. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,442
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +54
    To be honest most people I know using a 10m DVI cable are having no problems at all.

    Of course there is always a chance it might have failed.

    Cheers
    Marc
     
  9. Scott Smart

    Scott Smart
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2000
    Messages:
    50
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maidstone, Kent, England
    Ratings:
    +0
    The RGB output from a SCART lead is not the same as the VGA (computer type) that you need. The VGA type has separate syncs, the SCART type doesn't (although sometimes I think there is a SYNC on the composite ouput) You will probably have to buy a box that sorts out the SYNCS for you, you will find them advertised in the back of mags like Home Cinema Choice etc...

    - Good Luck with it all

    -Scott Smart
     
  10. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,736
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Scott, any chance of elaborating.

    There seem to be plenty of scart->vga leads (some Z1 specific).

    Why arent these any good? WHat am I looking for and have I erroniously assumed that Scart to VGA was all I needed?
     
  11. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,736
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Just had a read of the lindy site and noticed that the analogue section of the DVI-I connection has 5 pins, yet looking at keenes explation of Z1 VGA wiring it requires 8 pins.

    Any wiring/pin experts out there care to explain the theory behind signals/wiring/pin configuration for Scart/VGA/DVI-I analogue bit
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice