1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PLIIx opinions

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by mlinhares, Nov 4, 2003.

  1. mlinhares

    mlinhares
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    To all of you that allready installed PLIIx. Is it worth the money? Did you find many changes from the "plain" PLII to the PLIIx? Is it worth it for a 5.1 setup?
    Thanks.
     
  2. cskates

    cskates
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Belfast, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've had the PLIIx upgrade on my 5.1 AV32R for a few weeks and not noticed a huge difference, the new Game mode sounds slightly different from Movie but not by a huge margin. I think people with a 7.1 setup would benefit much more.
     
  3. rob@rar.org.uk

    rob@rar.org.uk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Hampton, Southwest London
    Ratings:
    +0
    By definition, isn't the IIx upgrade irrelevent to 5.1 setups?

    Regards

    Rob
     
  4. lowrider

    lowrider
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Riga, Latvia
    Ratings:
    +1
    The Krell has DPLII Matrix mode for mostly mono sources, it works great with TV, I wonder if the Game mode is similar... :confused:
     
  5. mlinhares

    mlinhares
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    No, is supposed to deal much better with all sources and of course improve even the 5.1 setups (like mine), i.e improves everything going in and out of the AV. I must admit I'm very curious. The original PLII was such an improvement.
    Here's a copy and paste from Tag's site:

    Pro Logic II, already one of the best processing modes to produce multi-channel sound from stereo sources, has just got even better!


    Pro Logic IIx takes Pro Logic II processing into the 7.1 arena, taking full advantage of the back channels that are becoming part of many advanced Home Cinema installations.

    5.1 Set-ups also benefit, as Dolby’s designers decided to fine-tune Pro Logic IIx to improve sound quality for 5.1 home cinema installations too..

    Finally for all ‘gamers’, be it 5.1 or 7.1, the new sound format Pro Logic IIx Game is added which can make gaming even more realistic.
     
  6. rob@rar.org.uk

    rob@rar.org.uk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Hampton, Southwest London
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hadn't noticed this. As you say, PL2 was a big improvement ober plain old PL so I have my doubts that it will be abother major improvement for 5.1 systems. I recently upgraded to 7.1 so when I can have a bit of time to upgrade to 4.20 I'll probably pay for the PL2x licence.

    Regards

    Rob
     
  7. mlinhares

    mlinhares
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    That's one of the nice things about Tag, we can always expect to have it . It's nice to at least have the option:clap:
     
  8. ThomsonBill35

    ThomsonBill35
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got the Pl2x today and it is great much more defined and seems to hold it together.

    Thanks Tag once again. I always get great answers from the support guys.

    Bill
     
  9. Bogi

    Bogi
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sweden
    Ratings:
    +27
    Well, for my 7.1 setup it really is great! I even use it for old remastered DD 5.1 movies so I can tamper (as the audio has already been tampered with I'm not too purist in these matters) the audio to improve spaciousness and still keep the dialog in the centre (with the Music Mode).

    I also like what it does music wise and I use it as default mode for anything less than multichannel software. It certainely is more stable for my 7.1 setup. However for a 5.1 setup, I really can't say. However, for me there's no going back.

    And besides, if you want to benefit from future upgrades you really have no choice than to implement the DPLIIx feature. The recent 4.3 upgrade requires a DPLIIx installment.
     
  10. ThomsonBill35

    ThomsonBill35
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    had a few glithes wirth dts today has anyone had them too with the new software 4.3,

    like audio freezes,drops

    will email helpdesk tomorrow but wanted to see if i was missing something
     
  11. mlinhares

    mlinhares
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    Wow, installed it today and it's amazing. The first thing that came to my mind is that they should call it PLIII because the improvement is so huge and I have only a 5.1 setup. Other plus is the possibility to aply PLIIx to HDCD encoded discs (version 4.3).
     
  12. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    Is PL2x only available to AVR192 and AV32R DP's? I have an original AV32R 96 and am looking to upgrade to DPL2. CAn I get DPL2x? The Tag site appears to say no. Surely my machine is up to it!
     
  13. parky43007

    parky43007
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Tarragona
    Ratings:
    +16
    You need the Dual Processor version. The SP doesn't have enough horsepower as I understand it.
     
  14. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    So I bought a fancy box with a ZX81 inside? :D
     
  15. Sab

    Sab
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    729
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +18
    Steve the Tag AV32R 96 is upgradable to your hearts content. If you had bought a Lexicon DC2 then you would have lost out on the upgradability and would have to fork out on another £1k in a few years time.

    I am just about to get a vanilla Tag AV32R 5.1 96 this weekend. Hope it is worth it!
     
  16. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    Only joking Sab, the basic 96 is a great machine. I'm totally delighted with mine. WOuld like the bypass at some point and 192 dacs.
     

Share This Page

Loading...