Question Plex, Itunes, CD and apple music

RAINS

Hi i have been using Plex for over 10 years and originally ripped some of my CD collection via itunes.
I transferred this to my NAS and that's how it has remained since.
I think this was a mistake as ripped as MP3 or AAC in itunes rather than a higher bitres.
I note that Plex only shows my original CD collection so i want to revisit this if possible and try and get it to update with any new purchases / additions.

1) clear out plex and start again. I have a lifetime pass so can now use Plexamp?
2) rerip the CDs again in a lossless format. How's best?
3) rip them to the NAS direct
4) move across any purchased music my iphone to my NAS. How best to apply.
5) any additional pointers etc

Many thanks

RAINS

Hi i have been using Plex for over 10 years and originally ripped some of my CD collection via itunes.
I transferred this to my NAS and that's how it has remained since.
I think this was a mistake as ripped as MP3 or AAC in itunes rather than a higher bitres.
I note that Plex only shows my original CD collection so i want to revisit this if possible and try and get it to update with any new purchases / additions.

1) clear out plex and start again. I have a lifetime pass so can now use Plexamp?
2) rerip the CDs again in a lossless format. How's best?
3) rip them to the NAS direct
4) move across any purchased music my iphone to my NAS. How best to apply.
5) any additional pointers etc

Many thanks
Just to add to the above... do i just not bother and get a Tidal subcription?

next010

Distinguished Member
Your iTunes library folder must exist on the NAS if its to download its purchases onto that.

You need iTunes installed on a Mac/PC and have it download your purchases. .

If you want higher quality rips select ALAC (apple lossless) in iTunes settings. However I'm unsure if Plex plays ALAC, it may transcode the audio format. Maybe plex forums can shed more light.